So I Oced my 3000 wini to 3500. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2005, 01:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Question So I Oced my 3000 wini to 3500.

finally i was able to fidn the ram divider in my Gygabyte board. I went ahead and lower the ltd to 3x and raised the htt to 220, then 230, then 240, the 250. It cant do 250 so i went to 248 it works. The temps are 35 idle 40 load that fine. I tried my games and to my surprise no speed gained. Css still doing 90-93 fps with 3500 speeds. as with stock. So i thought i could up the ltd and that would help. In my bois I put the ltd on 4x and widnows loads but it hangs on the sing in screen. My ram is on stock 201 mhz and stock lantencies.

So since i didnt get any speed can i rule that ocign a 3000(939 wini) to 3500 doesnt give a speed increase?

I oc my Gpu though i can see the difference by 5-10 fps.

Can something else be messing up that i would get no speed increase? The Ltd beign 3x?
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 02:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Nah, it's in the video card. Your processor is enough to run everything in the background of CsS without OC'ing. Your processor is ready to be taxed with the extra load, but it was already doing the work just fine.

Like I said, it's your video card that you need to OC before you see significant fps gains. Anyway, what's the problem? Your eye can't even detect much of a difference between 50 fps and 90. You ought to leave it like it is, but that's my opinion. Good luck with your OC'ing!

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

thxs dude that what i thought.
efd753 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 03:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

BTW, what video card do you have? Some other guys may have suggestions and/or tricks to optimize your card. ie, optimal frequencies and pipe unlocking programs.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 06:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

I have a pny 6600 gt. the temps suck on the card 40-50 idle 80-100 load on stock and oc so i said what the hell might aswell oc if im get thoses same temps on stock.
efd753 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

run 3dmark01 or even futuremark for that matter...run it at stock 3000+ settings and your OC'd CPU settings, and THEN you'll notice the fruits of your labor.

like Fghtin said...on those games you mentioned, you'll only notice an increase in FPS if you OC your video card.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.