Slow bootup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2005, 07:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Default Slow bootup

I finally got my new system up and running. But it really takes its time booting up, is there a way to fix this?
__________________

__________________
What are all these extra screws for?
-=DFOX=- is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 07:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Well, it all depends. My system take about 1 minute, 40 seconds to boot. I've got all kinds of stuff on my pc, hardware wise, overclocked, lots of ram, etc. Are you talking about the startup time to get to your desktop? If so, you might have a lot of programs running that you don't need to run. Disable them in msconfig if this is so.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 07:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to pumagt500 Send a message via Yahoo to pumagt500
Default

Does this post really apply to this thread?
__________________
<center>Halo crusher mod</center>
<center>http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=39001</center>
pumagt500 is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 07:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default

it also depends on how much of your hardware is supported, the quality of the support (drivers), and the overall configuration of the system. There might be one or two bottle necks in there that could be configured to get your system running faster. Install the latest drivers, run msconfig and clean up your startup. update your windows.
__________________
[root@root root]$ su
uchiha is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 07:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

What are you talking about?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 12:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Default

Well, here is the deal. This is a brand new build. It takes about 1:45 to go from power up to usable desktop.

The ASUS A8V screen stays up for like 25 seconds, then the blinking cursor hangs around another 30. Plus other stuff in between, scanning IDE ad stuff...

My Specs are

ASUS A8V MOBO
AMD 3200+
1 GB Ram
Running XP Home

Doe's this sound like a normal boot time?? My Old Dell P4 was up in about 30 seconds, course it did not have as much stuff to think about
__________________
What are all these extra screws for?
-=DFOX=- is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 03:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Sounds like quite a few problems, your hardware seems to take a while to get recognised, so updating drivers would be the first things I'd say.

I really think all it is is some sort of hardware, as the hangtime seems to occur for the most part before your OS is loaded.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 05:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

you can also try going into

Run-msconfig-startup

if theres alot of programs selected that may be where your problem lies.
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 06:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It seems exagerated, but my A8V takes pretty long to boot as well
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 10:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Default

Well, I tried updating everything that I could, still the same.

Doe's memory size have anything to do with it?


Also, when I fire it up, it says something like "No fastrack controller device found, the bios is not installed"

Im not sure what that is, is that the part that comes with the ASUS board that has a joystick controller hookup and another serial port plus two more USB ports? I didnt put that in when I put it together.
__________________

__________________
What are all these extra screws for?
-=DFOX=- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.