SLI Help please. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2008, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Kozar927
Default SLI Help please.

Hi guys

I just got my second 9800gt in the mail for SLI and I dont think its working

heres what I did. Put it in installed drivers again went to nividia control panel and turned SLI on. I dont see any performance increases in any of my games. I running vista 32 bit and I have herd people talk about profiles for each game or something to make it work. Can anyone help me here. How do i know if SLI is working in games? On Oblivion it seems like it actlly runs slower tho that may just be in my head.

CPU: 3.0 ghz intel dual core
2 nividia 9800gts
4 gigs ram
22 inch monitor at 1680x1050 resolution.

is their a way to tell if it running and whats this im hearing about SLI profiles for games?

if worst comes to worst I want to overclock these things because im not satisfied with my performance.
__________________

Kozar927 is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: SLI Help please.

i know it's off topic..but, you should really look into getting a 64 bit os.

you have 4gb of ram have a total of 1gb of ram on video cards...that's 5gb in total when windows can only use 3.0-3.5....so 2 sticks of your ram are totally useless :|
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Kozar927
Default Re: SLI Help please.

yah but alot of other things arnt supported by 64 bit OSes that I use.

AHHH i need help with this SLI thing.
Kozar927 is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: SLI Help please.

okay...here is a good way to test it.

have only 1 card in, run 3d mark 06.....then put the second card in and run it again. If your score doesn't jump, then something is wrong.
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Kozar927
Default

whats 3d mark 06 and were can I get it?

I relly need help here. I dont think its running in games at all.

How do I overclock my 2 cards then. I run alot of graphics mods and I as told this card with SLI could handel them but either it cant or SLI isnt working.
Kozar927 is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 01:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: SLI Help please.

Futuremark - 3DMark06 - 3DMark06 - Introduction

The Overclocking is already taken care of. Not all games can support SLi.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-12-2008, 02:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: SLI Help please.

yea not all games support sli so if those games that u play dont support it it would just run the game off 1 of your cards making it like it was before your sli
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 11-14-2008, 11:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: SLI Help please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stalin90 View Post
yea not all games support sli so if those games that u play dont support it it would just run the game off 1 of your cards making it like it was before your sli
not true they arent optimised for sli they will still work in sli, its just both cards will read as 1 gpu, instead of individual cards, and you will only get a boost of 10 fps or so from what ive noticed. my 8800gts g92 sli are slughtering everything, exept fro farcry2 which is having sli issues aparently. fall out on the other had is a constant 60 fps unless im neer the river i go down close to 28/30. i have all the settings cranked up with 4x aa and the modded high res water. aparently it hits your performence bad, and itl even bring down a 4870x2, to around 30/40. the only other place i take a hit is up on hill tops i have teh draw distance to max but i only go down to 40/50 so it aint to bad. but most other games i notice an huge increase exept for far cry as mentioned but the engine is bugged preaty bad atm. its codded worse then cry engine 2. fps are preaty much the same if not worse and it only looks half as good. i noticed a big boost in bioshock aswell.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
List of News Prototype New Technology and Products 4 10-29-2008 04:29 AM
9800 GTX vs. SLI vs. 3-way SLI. vs. Quad SLI veg1992 New Technology and Products 2 05-31-2008 10:59 AM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
SLI + Dual Monitors WORKS.... Black Falcon 921 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 03-22-2008 10:34 AM
NVIDIA Launching 3 way SLI Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-12-2007 09:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.