Sleeving to power cable - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2006, 06:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default Sleeving to power cable

hi,

I try to sleeve my cables from power supply, i manage to do some but some connectos are too big so cannot put the sleeving.. any suggestion ?


thanks
__________________

madking153 is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 06:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default

You have to take the molex's off and do the sleeving look at turboFX55 sleeving guide!
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 06:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default

i already look at the turboFX55 is guide - it doesnt contain the information i looking for - so i post this question here

I already sleeve most of the cables , but some cables from power supply are connected together ...
madking153 is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 10:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Using either a small metal tube to squeeze the connectors retention tangs, or some hemostats, will usually allow removal of connectors. Just be sure to have pinout guide AND/OR mark them well. Take a picture first!
krazefinn is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 12:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

you would not want to accidently switch two of the power pins on accident.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 12:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

you could always just use car audio sleeving for the power cable it gives it a good look rather than risk pulling ur power cables apart.
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 12:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Split-sleeve automotive looms look nice also...and no risk with connectors either.
__________________

krazefinn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.