sleeving cables question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2008, 11:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default sleeving cables question

so im wanting to splice some wires for my fans to have them all just run into one molex 4pin. i was gonna make it look nice by sleeving them but my question is can you use something other then a heat gun??? i really dont wanna buy one when the sleeving stuff will only cost me around $5.

my mom use do do stamping stuff and has an embossing heat gun thing, will it work???
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 11:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: sleeving cables question

Blowdryer will work almost as good.

People have also used lighters.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 11:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: sleeving cables question

You try lighters or even the stove, lol.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 11:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: sleeving cables question

oh lol i thought it required more heat then that hahha, gg
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 10:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
almightyobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 241
Default Re: sleeving cables question

Id just go w/ a hair drier, hopefully your mom has a new one, the new ones get really hot
__________________

MB - DFI LP DK P35-T2RS
CPU - Q6600 @ 3.0 atm
HSF - Lapped TRUE + Scythe
RAM - 2x 1G Ballisitx Tracers
GPU - EVGA 9800 GTX
HD - 500G Barracuda + 320G Ext
PSU - PC P&C Silencer 610
OS - Windows XP 32-bit SP2 OEM
Case - Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Monitor - Hanns-G 19" Widescreen LCD
Headset - Sennheiser PC151
3DMark06 - 14186 (3.0 / stock gpu)

You must try some of my purple berries...
almightyobo is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 11:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: sleeving cables question

I see babylyss products on newegg soon ....
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 03:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: sleeving cables question

i hate using lighters. I bought one of those mini torches from an auto store. $15
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 08:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: sleeving cables question

LOL!!!! +1 FO SHO!!! haha. thats wicked funny. i could see you just like torching your cpu and being, ****... now thats a hot cpu.. haha. but yeah, just get a hair dryer.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 08:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: sleeving cables question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
LOL!!!! +1 FO SHO!!! haha. thats wicked funny. i could see you just like torching your cpu and being, ****... now thats a hot cpu.. haha. but yeah, just get a hair dryer.
...?

Don't you take the cables out before you sleeve them...?

anyways... i used those gas lighter things, those gun shaped things lol
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 08:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: sleeving cables question

well the op said he was trying to sleve a 4 pin molex, so i figured he wouldn't really be doing a lot of out of the case work. I could be wrong on that one tho.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about hooking up my cables from PSU? desktop System Upgrades 1 02-05-2008 04:47 PM
Question on HD TV bmitchell73 General Gaming 13 09-27-2007 02:59 AM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Question about Ethernet Cables Josh1986 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 09-07-2007 04:52 PM
Sony DVD burner/Seagate HDD.... doesn't have cables OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-15-2007 04:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.