Slaymate's Saga - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2009, 11:38 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Slaymate's Saga

This is looking pretty sexy. Can't wait to see it finished.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 07:12 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Slaymate's Saga

When this project started I was going to use the Cooler Master V8. But then Cooler Master released the V10 and I decided to try that instead. But I may still change my mind, I've been known to buy on impulse.

I'm not a fan of the Black Plastic Cover. I'll probably take it off and lose it.






The base has a pretty nice finish to it


When the cover is removed things start to look a little shoddy. Everything looks a little bent. I'm not really impressed with the side view but it may not be noticable installed.


If I do lose the cover I'll be using this fan grill on the exposed fan.


Here are the fans, they are wired together.
__________________

Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 07:13 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Slaymate's Saga

Back to the heatsink. There are a bunch of Void Your Warranty Stickers on this thing. Luckily I'm highly skilled at Voiding my Warranty


With the control module removed we can see the thermistor is located on the outer edge of the base. This means the Peltier doesn't even activate until the outer edge of the base gets hot. I'll be relocating it to the center or slightly off-centered (now that I've tried it as packaged).


And here's a picture of the Peltier. And I've also ordered a couple different Peltiers to try in-lieu of the stock unit. The stock unit is rated at 70 watts with 21 volts at 9.8 amps. I just don't see the Peltier getting more than 12-13 volts so it's never going to get that cold. So following there logic I ordered a 120 watt, 24.6 volt, 7.9 amp Peltier. Once again it's never going to reach it's potential but it should get much colder. I also decided to try using my logic and I ordered a 80 watt, 16.1 volt, 8 amp Peltier. I have high hopes for this one. It should run at 75-80% efficiency with 12 volts.


And the Mounting Hardware. I didn't realize that the AM2 plate was stuck to the 1366 plate.


I also bought one of these t-shirts. As I understand it, the wearie is inbued with an extra 10% modding bonus

Front


Back


Fruit of the Loom, you know it's comfee
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 07:48 PM   #24 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Slaymate's Saga

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Back
Just one problem, condenser style radiator.

:P
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 08:26 AM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Mnpctech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: mnpctech.com
Posts: 552
Default Re: Slaymate's Saga

I should have dan's case panels back from powdercoating tommorow, yippee!
Mnpctech is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 06:01 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Slaymate's Saga

Today we have the Video Cards. I bought the EVGA GTX 280 1st and I took quite a few pictures. When I got the BFG GTX 280 I was in a hurry to plug it and I only took a single photo. But we'll get to see the BFG stripped down tomorrow when the new cooler is installed.

The BFG GTX 280


And the EVGA GTX 280


















And I finally got a shipping notice for the Peltiers I'll be trying with the Cooler Master V10. Looks like I'll be tinkering this weekend.
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 06:57 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Slaymate's Saga

Today I have some pictures of the coolers I'll be using on the GTX280's. This is the SilenX IXG-80HA2 Noiseless GPU Cooler. They have an optional fan kit, which I bought, Ixtrema GPU Fan Kit. But I won't recommed the fan kit, it's expensive, flimsy and the fans are totally exposed. Instead I bought (4) Scythe Kaze-Jyu Slim 100mmx100mmx12mm 2000 rpm 27.6 cfm fans, (2) for each card. On a side note, these fans come with brackets to mount them onto a hard drive.

Here are the basic spec's of the Coolers
dimensions - 228.4x113.2x33.2mm
base material - Copper Heatpipes, Aluminum Plates
fin material - Aluminum Fins
fin surface area - 2800cm
weight - 365g
gpu compatibility - Most Radeon and GeForce graphics cards with mounting holes, SLi and Crossfire supported

While they say the Cooler is Crossfire and SLI compatible, it is only compatible as a fanless alternative. If you want to use fans with these Coolers you'll be looking for a new case, probably.















Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 06:58 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Slaymate's Saga

In this next picture you'll notice that (2) of the Memory Modules don't have Ramsinks. Instead you have to apply a Thermal Pad to (2) of the modules as the heatpipes are located above them.









Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 08:06 PM   #29 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Slaymate's Saga

nifty.

Didn't realize exposed heatpipes had migrated to gpu coolers already.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 02-18-2009, 08:59 PM   #30 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Slaymate's Saga

Oh yeah. My Accelero uses heat pipes.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.