simple fan question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2005, 07:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default simple fan question

My backup AMD computer was custom built for us, unfortunately, we skimped on the case. When I was working on the AMD comp today, I noticed that there was only one fan slot and NO FAN, my comp has NO FANS except for the obvious heatsink fan. So I measured the opening and ordered me a new 38.2 cfm 80mm sleeve fan.

Now, my question to you. The only fan slot is on the rear of the case, I know that the rear is mainly used for exhaust, but in the case of having only one fan, I'm not sure if it should be intake or not. If I used it for exhaust, would that pull enough air from the outisde to cool the comp down? Or would having an intake pull in more outside air?

Nubius, if you could help me too, I know you are the wiz of cooling fans
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 07:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

The only problem with using the rear slot for intake is that air wont hit anything. Another factor is that once air blows from a fan it only stays cool for a short while. Then its temperature adapts to the environment. So since the computer is warm, you will only inherit more warm air. Depending on the case, this can have a negitive effect.

But if you used it for exhaust, it will channel warm air from your system. Only if their is any air to control. Thats why you need some type of intake. So you have air flow. Personally, i would use it as exhaust. But overall, i would check your system temps. To find out how bad you need some type of cooling. Because you might even have to do more then add a single fan.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 07:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

if i were u i would stick it as a intake then use motherboard monitor or abit idle and in load and see what ur temps are like. then swap it round and see whats better.

i would expect a intake to be better tbh well for ur cpu anyhow, because that will be gettin a cooler source of air
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 08:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

after thinking it over, i'm wanting to use it as an exhaust, even though most of the air will be warm case air, the vacuum the fan creates will still pull in some cooler air from the front and side vents.

LOL, and about the temps, this comp has ran for two years, sometimes being on for weeks at a time and has had no heat related crashes, I guess I'm lucky.

I want to check my temps, what are good programs for that, I used to use Sisoft Sandra, but I don't trust the temp part of the program.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 11:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

I do hope that you have cleaned it out a few times during those two years... or you have dust bunny central.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 11:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

I would just put in some of your own in the front, self tapping screws or something. Cases are something that I realized you cant go el chepo on now.

-Ryan
MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 01:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

yeah, in the future, i'll try to do a fan on the side of the case, or i'll get a new case that has room for more fans.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 05:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

you can possibly try this out as well...

LOGISYS Computer CF108 70mm Blue LED Light 3D Blue LED Edge Fan Kit - Retail

Of course at Newegg... But this works pretty good for cerculation as well... I use it in my wife's confuser...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 11:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Kewl, I could use the Vid Card one, my old 5200's fan broke a year ago.

I don't know where the other single fan goes, is that a heatsink fan?
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ohGrFreak
Kewl, I could use the Vid Card one, my old 5200's fan broke a year ago.

I don't know where the other single fan goes, is that a heatsink fan?
No... it's a PCI slot type a fan setup. go to Newegg and look up the fan specs. you can put the fans in a number of different configs to help your needs...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.