should i voltmod my 8800gts 320mb? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2007, 05:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default should i voltmod my 8800gts 320mb?

should i voltmod it by editing the bios of my 8800 gts? is it risky? the only way i overclocked my 8800gts was through atitool or ntune which i increased clock and memory frequency. i saw this NiBiTor and nvflash to get me started but has anyone tried overvolting their cards?
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 07:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: should i voltmod my 8800gts 320mb?

I know Nos for one has probably volt modded, and for sure he flashed his new card might want to talk to him.
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 07:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: should i voltmod my 8800gts 320mb?

Quote:
Originally Posted by advancedgeek View Post
should i voltmod it by editing the bios of my 8800 gts? is it risky? the only way i overclocked my 8800gts was through atitool or ntune which i increased clock and memory frequency. i saw this NiBiTor and nvflash to get me started but has anyone tried overvolting their cards?
Nosboost has...

VR-Zone : Technology Beats - 8800GTS 320MB Pencil Voltage Mods

heres a guide... it does void your warranty and if you screw up... I don't take responsibility for it and neither does the maker of that link...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 10:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: should i voltmod my 8800gts 320mb?

So you just need a pencil ? Is led conductive ?
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 11:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: should i voltmod my 8800gts 320mb?

dude...just stick with what you have and dont risk it...
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 11:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: should i voltmod my 8800gts 320mb?

Yeah , I wouldn't risk a card that good.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 03:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: should i voltmod my 8800gts 320mb?

I flashed my GPU BIOS to increase the voltage a few weeks ago, and it created terrible lag for some reason. I just realized yesterday that the lag didn't start until after I flashed my card. Flashed it back, and now everything runs perfectly on max settings.

I'm going to try the pencil mods for the 7900GS...I was gonna do it today actually, but I couldn't find a 12v battery for my multimeter.

If you do go and flash just make sure you save a backup of the original BIOS before you do anything.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 01:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: should i voltmod my 8800gts 320mb?

there's a huge database of bios that i can find for you.. just wait til i get home to give it to you..

as for doing pencil trick... risk factor is like 0..... no way your gonna mess up your card.. like seriously.. it so simple.. did it to my 7900gt long ago and came across 0 problems

if i still had my 8800gts, i woulda totally pencil modded it

soon... i'll get a soldering iron or something and start doing some real volt mods

but here is the rule of thumb...

ask yourself this.... are you games running how you want them.... if so... then NO... don't volt mod...

if they arent... then YES... voltmod... but be sure to buy a new cooler
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 07:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: should i voltmod my 8800gts 320mb?

I voltmodded a 7900 GT and a 7950 GT, with no problems.

The 7900 GT however, died when I put in a friends PC with a weaker power supply (at the time, he had a more powerful CPU, and I wanted to see what 3dmark score it would get)

Moral: Always, always, always get a good quality power supply with adequate power for your components. Especially if you plan to voltmod.

A friend of mine tells me, however, that the 7900 GT might actually be fixable.
I do actually get a display from the 7900 GT for a few seconds before it cuts out. Which would suggest a capacitor or a resistor might be the problem. They can be replaced with a soldering iron.

Also, when I first got my watercooling, I also got a waterblock for my 7950 GT.
When I turned on the computer, I just got a black screen.

I found out why when I took off the waterblock. It wasn't contacting the GPU properly (even though I was sure I put it on right)

There was a bubble next to the GPU. It melted.

That's when I got my 8800 GTS 320MB.

Basically, voltmodding the cards for me went fine. the 7900 GT I got all the way to 750MHZ, and the 7950 GT I got to 730MHZ (though at a slightly lower voltage).
They did die, but not because of the voltmods (or in the case of the 7900 GT, not directly. But it put too much strain on the power supply. But hopefully, I can fix it.)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-19-2007, 10:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: should i voltmod my 8800gts 320mb?

is there any way to voltmod without physically altering the graphics card? like for cpu you can voltmod by going into the bios but would the flashing bios thing work?
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
430 watts for a 8800GTS 320mb Marrk New Technology and Products 13 10-01-2007 12:08 PM
New 8800GTS 320MB HELPMEPLZ New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-28-2007 11:03 AM
Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB HELPMEPLZ New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-27-2007 11:00 AM
Free copy of Dawn of War with the purchase of an gigabyte 8800gts 320mb veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 06-17-2007 09:09 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.