Should I push the CPU farther? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2008, 12:33 AM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

Let me preface this by saying this is NOT VERIFIED STABLE. I ran SuperPi, and did a few things without trouble, but HAVE NOT RAN ANY REAL STRESS TESTS YET.

__________________

XDRoX is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 12:35 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

Very impressive
__________________

Burn is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 09:05 PM   #23 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

good thing that chip is cheap. Thats alot of vcore
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 09:30 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

Ya, I know. I just got the E7200. I'm going to wait 'til this weekend to install it though. Then I'll really push it too.
XDRoX is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 10:17 PM   #25 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

be careful w/ the 45nm chips.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 05:26 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

I just got this cpu and have some questions. I saw that XDRoX used a very high vcore, can vcores this high damage the motherboard? I just had my board RMA'd and dont want to do it again. Also, regarding superpi times, does the FSB have anything to do with the time? or are shortened times a result of a higher clock rate?
Burn is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 05:36 PM   #27 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

vcore can damage your motherboard... but only when its really (i mean REALLY) absurdly high... 1.8V like this guy had is alot... but it wont hurt the mobo (possibly the CPU tho). SuperPi times are mainly governed by the CPU's clock speed, but the HDD read/write speed, the RAM bandwidth and, lastly, the FSB also come into play...

so if you have 2 setups identical in every possible way except one has a high FSB and low multiplier and the other has a low FSB and higher multiplier (to give the same overall clock speed), generally the higher FSB will win... but FSB is only a very small factor as a whole
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 05:37 PM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

Holy crap dude!

There's no way i would even attempt to throw vcore that high on my E2200
Shumway is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 06:24 PM   #29 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burninator View Post
I just got this cpu and have some questions. I saw that XDRoX used a very high vcore, can vcores this high damage the motherboard? I just had my board RMA'd and dont want to do it again. Also, regarding superpi times, does the FSB have anything to do with the time? or are shortened times a result of a higher clock rate?
That high of a vcore may not damage you motherboard but it can kill your cpu. I wouldn't go that high unless you are willing to buy a new cpu if it dies on you.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 07:00 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

Whoa.. who bought this back up...


Well XDRox was just seeing how high he can go... he had no experience in overclocking and crazily/selfishly went to 1.77 core to get 3.7ghz.. I do not recommend even going near that, unless you have the dough to pay for another one..
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to get a new GFX Card and possibly a CPU... What cooling would I need? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 04-19-2008 11:20 PM
Faulty motherboard or CPU! Plz Help! electricsashimi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 03-19-2008 09:59 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.