Should I push the CPU farther? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2008, 09:28 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

I want your cooling.
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 01:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

The little CPU that could.
Still going... My cooling is getting in the way now, this weekend I got a new cooling system lined up so I hope to post some better results.
__________________

XDRoX is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 01:53 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

keep goin man your temps are fine, anythign below 70c load is ok.
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 01:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Default

I'm trying to get this stable first. It seems to be a matter of RAM adjustment in order to get it stable. I don't really understand RAM fully yet, and it is hard to find tutorials on it.

When I put a load on this it started to get up around 50C and I don't trust Core Temp, so I figure it may have actually been around 70C, so I figure I'll wait until the new cooler and try some more.
XDRoX is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 08:30 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

Core temp seems to be fairly accurate since the temps show similar to my bios temps.

3.7ghz is a true accomplishment (for a E2 series) and if you can get it any farther i would be amazed!
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 11:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDRoX View Post
The little CPU that could.
Still going... My cooling is getting in the way now, this weekend I got a new cooling system lined up so I hope to post some better results.
You are going to burn up your cpu!!!! that Vcore is ridiculous at 1.776 no wonder you have the chip clocked so high. Regardless of whatever temps you have a Vcore that high will destroy the chip.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 11:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
You are going to burn up your cpu!!!! that Vcore is ridiculous at 1.776 no wonder you have the chip clocked so high. Regardless of whatever temps you have a Vcore that high will destroy the chip.
Lol, good thing for voltage drop, or you could really see what I am sending into the chip, lol

Still running good though.
XDRoX is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 11:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

Did you get it to 3.8 yet?
Burn is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 11:37 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

No, I'm waiting for the my new cooling system. But if the mood strikes me I might give it a go tonight
I just got my new RAM, so that'll probably keep my occupied for a while.
XDRoX is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 11:40 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

You should lemme get soma dat
__________________

Burn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to get a new GFX Card and possibly a CPU... What cooling would I need? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 04-19-2008 11:20 PM
Faulty motherboard or CPU! Plz Help! electricsashimi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 03-19-2008 09:59 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.