Should I push the CPU farther? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2008, 02:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Default Should I push the CPU farther?

I've been OC'ing all weekend and finally got it over 3.3GHz running stable so far.
Does anyone know if I can push it more? When I tried to push it over 3.4GHz it booted fine and Windows opened but Core Temp and CPUz only read 2.2GHz, which is the E2200's normal speed.
Anyone know why this happens?
Here is a screen shot:
__________________

XDRoX is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 02:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

Disable SpeedStep if you haven't , it lowers the ghz when you are idling.
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 03:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

push it farther i was about to buy one of these one time just to see how high it would overclock.
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

I'll OC it like I stole it.
XDRoX is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 10:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

I got it a little higher. It's becoming increasingly more difficult to tweek it though.
XDRoX is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 11:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

What are the temps with the Vcore that high? 3.4ghz is a decent overclock if you can keep it stable.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 11:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

at a certain point these chips fall flat on their face. I wouldn't be suprised if you need 1.55v to get 3.5 out of it if it will even be stable.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 11:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
What are the temps with the Vcore that high? 3.4ghz is a decent overclock if you can keep it stable.
I haven't seen any temp get higher than 40C even when prime95 is putting max load on it.
XDRoX is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 11:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

what kind of cooler are you using?
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-11-2008, 11:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Default Re: Should I push the CPU farther?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
what kind of cooler are you using?
I pretty much have this one, except mine has blue LED's
Newegg.com - ZALMAN CNPS9500 AT 2 Ball CPU Cooling Fan/Heatsink - CPU Fans & Heatsinks

Got it over 3.5GHz now, but have not tested stability yet.
__________________

XDRoX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to get a new GFX Card and possibly a CPU... What cooling would I need? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 04-19-2008 11:20 PM
Faulty motherboard or CPU! Plz Help! electricsashimi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 03-19-2008 09:59 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.