Which should I consider as the better IDLE temperature? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2004, 04:22 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

bios is more accurate than programs like MBM 5 or Asus Probe
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 05:51 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to GrayT
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
bios is more accurate than programs like MBM 5 or Asus Probe
That's yet to be proven to me. One thing that has been proven is external temperature readers using in top benchmarks. I did the temperature reading and the results were only 1°C off from the third party programs like SpeedFan rather over 15°C off like the BIOS reads.

I'll I'm saying is that I've never seen an accurate BIOS reading. Probably why all of the reviews I see on HSF's and new CPU's are all taken with a temp gun.
__________________

GrayT is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 05:57 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

I would say it is as accurate, not more accurate.

Quote:
It is running the CPU at the designated clock speed. Your computer HAS to have CPU power to just boot up, this is using the CPU and will cause it to heat up.
but just like nubius said, the cpu has to heat up because it is needed to perform to some degree to actually make the computer get into the bios.

Quote:
I used one of my friends laser temp reader things and it read 35°C. So obviously in my case the BIOS was wrong.
you're bios might not be wrong. Just like nubius said, the cpu has to heat up because it is needed to perform to some degree to actually make the computer get into the bios.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 06:05 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to GrayT
Default

Even still, my temp has NEVER gone over 44°C unless my house heater is on and I'm running Prime95. So I don't know. Even with a box fan and the side of the case off the temp said it's 46°C lol.

Oh well, maybe my BIOS reading is just that much worse than everyone elses.
GrayT is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 10:38 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 50
Default

I download SiSoftware Sandra and run it. But the probem is, it showed a completely different temperature. My cpu is 29C and my motherboard is 43C. How could that be?
hbcao2004 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 06:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sh0r_ty
I'd have to agree with him. but just quickly what motherboard do you have cos the ABIT motherboards are prone to some serious problems in temperiture reading
MY ECS L7VTA has a SERIOUS problem to read temperature... he say that the CPU is 102 celcius, inside of the case is ok 30, and the sensor 3 (dunno what it is) is like 10-50 and it's moving really fast between these numbers.
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.