Should I bother with AM cooling? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2008, 01:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Should I bother with AM cooling?

I have a AMD 5600+ Dual Core, with stock cooling (which I had upgraded slightly to a quiter fan) the hottest I've seen it run while playing some games is 56 C, is that too warm should I bother getting aftermarket cooling, it normally stays around 50 while playing games tho, or maybe I can turn my fan speed up somehow?
__________________

__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 02:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

Get this:

Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail

56C is way too hot, im at 3.0ghz 24\7 and dont see anything above 53C on load.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 05:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

I was actually looking at that same fan for awhile thinking about getting it, I went ahead and ordered one from newegg along with some ArcticClean. Should be about a week before it gets here prob, I'll post my results in awhile, then I'll post my new temps once the stuff proofs and goes through a lot of cycles.
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 02:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

theres no need to fret about any temps lower then 70 on load... theres no reason to get aftermarket cooling unless your overclocking or wan't a more quiet or sexy solution...
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 07:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
theres no need to fret about any temps lower then 70 on load... theres no reason to get aftermarket cooling unless your overclocking or wan't a more quiet or sexy solution...
Most guys here would say otherwise, i wouldint even go anywhere near 70C or 60C, thats just too hot.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 08:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

Yea, at 60C with my puny overclock, I get several issues, programs start to crash and it acts like a big overgrown space heater. I would honestly try to keep it as close as possible to 50C or lower....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 12:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Schecters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 252
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

Definitely go with an after market cooler. It's not that expensive, and it does make a noticeable difference. And they're a lot quieter.
__________________

DESKTOP | XP
AMD 4200+ | 2gigs Corsair XMS 3200 | EVGA nf41 sli | EVGA 9800 GTX+
Tagan ITZ 700w | Audigy 2 ZS | 250 gig WD | 80 gig WD | 750 gig WD

LAPPY | Vista Business x86
Dell Vostro 1500 | 2 gigs dell junk| 160 gig | 8600M GT
Schecters is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 05:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles_scott View Post
Yea, at 60C with my puny overclock, I get several issues, programs start to crash and it acts like a big overgrown space heater. I would honestly try to keep it as close as possible to 50C or lower....
that probably wasn't because of the temperature... many stock CPU's come at 50 C load or even a 40 C idle... stability almost always has nothing to do with temperature unless your reaching safety throttling or shutoff temps...

a hot CPU won't actually increase room temperature at all... maybe by a few C? if you notice even with a hot CPU, your case will remain just above room temperature...
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 05:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

stability always has something to do with temps, when at 55C I get no errors, but once I get close to 60C I will have quite a few programs crash. If it didn't, then ****, why would people with really high overclocks and serious volts need water cooling or better? hmm?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 05:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

because if the temps are too high then the processor won't function (it will be damaged or will automatically shutdown to prevent damage)...

let me rephrase what I said though, I didn't say it right... : temperature doesn't usually effect stability in most systems unless they reach dangerous temperatures (able to cause damage to the actual CPU)
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Cooling Guide SirCyber Overclocking and Modding 5 01-03-2008 12:58 PM
Do i need NB/GPU Cooling? weezerguy187 Overclocking and Modding 0 11-13-2007 11:15 AM
Cool looking Gigabyte water cooling case Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-14-2007 06:50 PM
Water Cooling mozinga New Systems | Building and Buying 16 09-21-2007 12:20 PM
cheap water cooling siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 05-22-2007 09:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.