Several Overclocking Programs-Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2007, 10:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default Several Overclocking Programs-Problem

Hey, I am having a bit of a problem with my computer.. I have several overclocking programs such as Coolbits, RivaTuner, Ntune, and Powerstrip. I orginially was overclocking with Coolbits, and everything was working perfectly. However, I installed the other programs after I had done some overclocking and after I installed one of these programs I had to restart my computer. When I restarted my computer, I ran 3dMark 05 and my score was even lower then my original 3D mark score when I had no overclocking! My computer performance decreased.. The thing is, I look at these overclocking programs and they all show different Core and memory clock speeds :/ Whats going on? how do I fix this? Should have probably looked into this, but now my computer is more screwed up then when I started..

Ps: I also mistakedly changed my memory clock frequency from like 300 to 850 at one point, pressed apply, and ran a 3dmark 05 test.. Do you think this damaged any parts of my computer at all?

Slipery is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK

i would sayy.. not really it shouldnt have damaged anytihng toobadd... but i would say pic one 2 and stick with it... i use atitool and powerstrip... ati to to set it unlimited .. and ps to shortcut it.....


zerodayATK is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 11:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700

1) I assume you have a N-Force chipset. If your computer wasn't pre-built and was custom made, do some research on overclocking and use the bios to do so. Also unstable overclocks of the video card and/or cpu/ram can result in lower 3dmark scores, lower performance all around, and a corrupt windows. The best programs to use for overclocking your video card is powerstrip/rivatuner to adjust the speeds and atitool to do artifact scanning. Just set the speeds of the video card to default in the program you overclock with. You are probably looking at the 2D and 3D speeds and thats why they look different.
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.