settings for timings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2006, 12:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default settings for timings

okay.tweaking with my rams timings now and have some questions,.Everest shows that at2-3-3-6,my ram is running 133mhz and 2.5-3-3-7 at 166mhz.shoulden the tighter the higher????.i've made it 2.5-2-2-6
when it is auto,everest reading was 2-3-3-6.i was wondering what timings would be the best for it.
__________________

__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 12:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Lower = tighter
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 12:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default

yea i know.but im confused why everest state 2.5-3-3-7 is 166mhz and 2-3-3-6 is 133mhz.shullden it be the other way round
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 01:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

no, the higher the speed of your ram the more stability you need. therefore, the looser(higher) the timings the more stability you get. Although tighter(lower) timings get you better performance.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 10:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

Why is it reporting a different frequency when you change the timings?

Memory latency has no direct control over the frequency of the modules.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 10:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

It is only showing the rated specs for each bus speed. 133 will go cas2, 166 slows to cas 2.5.
Although good ram MAY go tighter than spec'd.
And only a benchmark will show the difference. It will not be otherwise perceived. In other words, use the higher(slower) timing numbers if it allows a faster bus speed. Always.
__________________

krazefinn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.