Settings in MSI Afterburner that I don't remember using before... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2012, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default MSI Afterburner--What Do Power Limit and Graphics Processor Type Settings Do?

There is a slider in MSI Afterburner that I don't remember seeing when I did my overclocks a couple of years ago... under "Power control properties", there is a "Power limit" setting, with a slider from -20% to +20%. As of now, it is defaulting to +0%.

There is also a setting for "Graphics processor type" with a drop-down menu. It defaults at 1175 mV, but there are also settings for 1112mV, 1050mV, and 1025mV.

Should either of these be changed? If so, what do they do?
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 03-25-2012, 06:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Settings in MSI Afterburner that I don't remember using before...

Anyone?
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 03-25-2012, 08:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Just Epic.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London
Posts: 579
Default Re: Settings in MSI Afterburner that I don't remember using before...



I dont know what sliders your talking about mine looks like this, what version of afterburner do you have?
If i was you I would leave them untouched and do your overclock, if your graphics card crashes and reverts back to default on different overclocks that should be stable then i would look at changing those two settings if it seems they are causing it to crash.
Mischa is offline  
Old 03-25-2012, 01:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Settings in MSI Afterburner that I don't remember using before...

I'm using the 2.2.0 Beta 14... this is in the settings screen.

Attachment 5209

And I know that "Unlock Voltage Control" isn't checked... it will be once I figure out what this stuff does.

EDIT--Does anyone know how to get that picture to be larger? I've resized it multiple times.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg afterburner.jpg (8.6 KB, 1019 views)
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 03-25-2012, 05:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Just Epic.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London
Posts: 579
Default Re: Settings in MSI Afterburner that I don't remember using before...



Im using 2.1.0 so dont have that, if your finding that too much trouble just download an older version like mine and you wont have to deal with any of those settings.

I use this for my pictures, Yami suggested it to me the other day. Welcome to Gyazo : Seriously Instant Screen-Grabbing
Mischa is offline  
Old 03-25-2012, 10:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Settings in MSI Afterburner that I don't remember using before...

I managed to find out... the power limit is similar to the control in CCC, so it controls the envelope for maximum wattage. If you're overclocking and you have a decent power supply, it should be at 20%.

The other one has to do with ASIC quality... it's hard to explain, so you may want to Google it.
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI Afterburner not applying OC at startup... earwicker7 Overclocking and Modding 0 11-23-2010 04:47 PM
AMD overdrive vs MSI afterburner Sniper_13 Overclocking and Modding 1 11-11-2010 06:36 PM
Solved: How To OC Past HD5870 Clock Block in MSI Afterburner yzmxer608 Overclocking and Modding 0 02-13-2010 11:42 AM
logitech g5 game settings don't work in my games! jonathanwest Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 09-06-2007 03:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.