Setting AA/AF How Much? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2005, 06:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default Setting AA/AF How Much?

Since i have recently installed a 6600gt I have been able to adjust my AA and AF in the settings menu. I have a few questions concerning Antialiasing and Antistrophic filtering.

When I set, lets say 2xAA/4xAF in the settings, will this apply to all 3dgames played, even directX 8 and lower games?

If my settings are 2xAA but then I change it to 4xAA in the HL2 game menu, which does it use?

And why do people use twice the AF than the AA?

Does anyone know of any artciles explaing what AA/AF are?
__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 06:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

i was wondering the exact same thing also
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Ace No-Money, when you ajust the Cards options, that does not apply to all video games. When you change the settings in a video game, those apply. Some video games the card can tell to run at x6 AA ect. Most they cant. But when you raise your video card settings. Then that would apply for desktop use and movies.

The reason people use twice the AA or AF, is becuase depending on your video card, one will stress your system more. Personally. i would keep them even.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 06:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I always run at 16X AF and 12X AA (temporal)

You can't keep them even because the AF goes up to 16X and the AA only goes up to 12X on ATI cards and only 6X on nvidia cards.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 06:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
I always run at 16X AF and 12X AA (temporal)

You can't keep them even because the AF goes up to 16X and the AA only goes up to 12X on ATI cards and only 6X on nvidia cards.
yea, and on 6600gt's, it only goes up to 4xAA

if you're playing stuff like cs:s, you can easily play 4xaa 16xaf
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 06:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Hell, just raise them all the way. If you have a problem, slowly decrease them.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.