Servo's to operate when Proccesser is under load. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2005, 05:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

Dude just use a logic circuit for what you want, make your life easy.

As for the CO2 thing thats a bad idea if you ask me. The injection of CO2 would cause a very rapid temp change, metals and silicon are suseptable to excessive wear when exposed to rapid temp changes. You may end up causing alot of damage to your kit doing that. Furthermore the reason why decompressing gas is cold is purley because its decompressing, this adds inherent instability into the system - ie you cannot model the temp change well. Also thinking about it there would be a tempurate gradient across the heatsink since the gas would begin warming up instanly, especially since it will be put in a hot environment. This temp gradient may cause the metal to warp and this would put pressure on some areas of the CPU and remove good contact in others. This wouldn't be a good thing.

Still if your willing to risk it, it would be cool to find out how effective it was and how much of an effect the dangers outlined had and what the products life expectancy was during this process.
__________________

__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 06:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jono199
Dude just use a logic circuit for what you want, make your life easy.

Please Explain your logic circuit?, what it is?, where can you buy one, maybe point me in the direction of a website so I can read up on it. Thanks in advance!!
__________________

__________________
A test to which no one knows
Jnewt427 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 06:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

The best way to go about this is to hook the servo up to a temp monitor, specify a temp that you want it to kick in, and when you cpu hits (say 50 C), the servo will react.
Thats my opinoin.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 01:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jnewt427
Please Explain your logic circuit?, what it is?, where can you buy one, maybe point me in the direction of a website so I can read up on it. Thanks in advance!!

juno199 or anyone else can helpme with this??
__________________
A test to which no one knows
Jnewt427 is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 02:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

i thought about reviewing this, reminding myself what i learned with those little electronic kits i used to get as a kid... kinda like knex for electronics geeks... but then again this website says it too well. http://www.google.com
also, might want to check here http://www.play-hookey.com/digital/electronics/
__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 09:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to pumagt500 Send a message via Yahoo to pumagt500
Default

What you could do is buy the tach that works for your cpu usage. When the wires that connect too the tach reach a certain voltage it could activate a switch enabiling the servo but youd prolly have too have a switch on the object moving so when it reaches full open or closed it deavtivates the servo.
__________________
<center>Halo crusher mod</center>
<center>http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=39001</center>
pumagt500 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 08:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I know alot about servos... (I'm an RC car wiz as well). I also think your best bet would be to get a heat sensor or some fan controller that could send the voltage signal to the servo causing it to open your valve. But why not just have it open all the time?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 09:51 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 62
Default

I am trying to regulate the sound and airflow, please read my earlier reply in this post for more detail.
__________________

__________________
A test to which no one knows
Jnewt427 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.