Secondary power supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2005, 12:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default Secondary power supply?

do they make power supplys that can sit outside the case that dont hook up to motherboard for like running extra fans and whatever else . If not , is there a way to hook a power supply up so it turns on from the same power switch as the first one ?
__________________

RangerXero is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 05:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

A have been wondering the same thing. im planning to put an old AT style power supply in my computer because im afraid my 300w one in my computer right now might not take the stress of all the components i have hooked up to it. im pretty sure you dont have to plug the psu into the motherboard to supply power. i would only hook up fans to it thought. my case is really really big so i think i could fit the extra psu in the case.
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 06:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
im pretty sure you dont have to plug the psu into the motherboard to supply power.
Yeah you do, try plugging in a fan to the PSU without it being plugged into the motherboard and you won't get jack. The motherboard sends a signal to the PSU to turn on.

What you are looking for is a 'test psu' one that will turn on without the motherboard. It's a real easy mod to do, I did it with an old 120w purely to test fans and whatnot. Check it out here:

http://www.casemodgod.com/mod_test_psu.htm
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Yeah you do, try plugging in a fan to the PSU without it being plugged into the motherboard and you won't get jack. The motherboard sends a signal to the PSU to turn on.

What you are looking for is a 'test psu' one that will turn on without the motherboard. It's a real easy mod to do, I did it with an old 120w purely to test fans and whatnot. Check it out here:

http://www.casemodgod.com/mod_test_psu.htm
actually, the power supply that i want to use has a switch on it. when i press the switch it turns on. it is a 12pin psu and i tried my 120mm fan on it and it worked without being plugged into the mobo. i will post pictures if you want.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 06:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

That's right, you said yours was an older AT style huh. Well in the case he's going to use a todays standard ATX PSU he will have to do that mod
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 07:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I do know that many cases do have the option for a second power supply so by all means it's probably possible to add a second one somehow, although I think that they are more geared towards servers and it probably only works with BTX motherboards, although I'm not sure.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 08:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

i just threw away one lol (old Acer computer had it). It had a switch with 5 soldering connections. you solder the PSU cord into it and hit the switch and it turns on. should i save the switch? i don't really need it i dont think...
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 08:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I try and save most computer parts I have now, you never know what you might use in the future for modding or something along those lines
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 08:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
I try and save most computer parts I have now, you never know what you might use in the future for modding or something along those lines
:runs to trash and saves litte block: i got like 10 heatsinks and a few fans i can't use in my drawers...guess it goes in there lol.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 02:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Right on thats an easy mod , and i got a few psu,s laying around , thx for the info..
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 2800+ clawhammer 512 kb
MSI k8t neo mobo
MSI 6600 gt
samsung 512 mb pc 3200
WD 80 gig ata100 7200 rpm
Onboard sound / realtek 5.1 based sound
7 year old cheap *** 17\" monitor but looks great , im surprised its still running , its bin through 5 computers so far.
RangerXero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.