SATA setup? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2005, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
jay
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 92
Default SATA setup?

I just bought a Western Digital serial ata hard drive connected all right! having trouble installing a o.s, any 1 no the proceadure to this installation and i dont have a floppy drive, is it possible without a floppy drive.??
__________________

jay is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

the only way to do it without a floppy drive is to make a slipstream CD which is no easy task.

http://greenmachine.msfnhosting.com/READING/addraid.htm

There's instructions on how to do it, but you need to simply get a floppy.

You gotta hit F6 at the very beginning of the windows setup, right when the screen goes blue it'll say 'Press F6 to install 3rd party SCSI/RAID drivers' and then it'll load them from the floppy unless you make that slipstream
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 08:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Service Pack two should have the drivers already.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 08:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well the windows CD doesn't come with SP2 unless you've made a slipstream CD with those in there so that doesn't really help his situation
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 08:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Nubius is exactly right.

If your MOBO has onboard SATA interfaces then you need the MOBO CD Installation disk. All the SATA & RAID drivers will be on that disk. And you will need to put those files on a floppy.

If you are using a SATA host card then the drivers will be on that CD-ROM or floppy.

Either way, buy a floppy drive. You can get one for less then $8.00.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 01:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Can he remove Windows XP CD, when the pop-up window of requesting the driver show, and put the SATA CD Driver instead?! and when the installation finish, he puts back the Windows XP CD again?!
veron is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 08:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
jay
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 92
Default

Ok now im realli in trouble got a floppy ! got the drivers, press F6 pik the option "done that" when im instaling windows it comes up with multiple errors should i just ignore these?

1.Has not passed windows logo testing to verify its capability with windows xp

2.Recommands you stop installing

3.VIA Serial ATA RAID contoroller Has not passed windows logo testing to verify its capability with windows xp

4."Device installer error" windows could not load the installer for DiskDrive Contact ur hard ware vendore assistance.

5. Windows could not load the installer for battery.

Now i have updated the bios to the newest version still the same wtf is going on here???

thanks to any 1 who can help me out!
jay is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 04:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Can he remove Windows XP CD, when the pop-up window of requesting the driver show, and put the SATA CD Driver instead?! and when the installation finish, he puts back the Windows XP CD again?!
No, it doesn't even look for to the CD-ROM, and you can't browse which device you want to search for, it's written into the winXP setup program to search drive A: for a floppy.

The first few errors like 'Has not passed logo testing' blah blah blah is common and you should just select 'Install anyway'

As far as device error you need to make sure your cables are all nice and tight on the SATA drive and motherboard itself.

Also make sure you didn't plug in the SATA power connector AND the 4pin, you need to plug in one or the other not both. If you plug in both that can fry the drive by giving it too much juice.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 12:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
jay
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 92
Default

Also make sure you didn't plug in the SATA power connector AND the 4pin, you need to plug in one or the other not both. If you plug in both that can fry the drive by giving it too much juice.????

dont understand ?? plz re type simpler
jay is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 12:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

....it doesn't get much simpler than that dude. There's two ways to give power to the SATA drive. A SATA power connector and your regular 4pin molex. Don't plug them both in. Which is what I typed...
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.