SATA and SATA II - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2005, 12:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 34
Default SATA and SATA II

Can anyone help me understand the difference in these two designs. I am looking at purchasing a mobo ASUS P5LD2 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131538 and it has SATAII slots. Will a regular SATA peripherals work or do they have to be SATAII?
Is one significantly better than the other?
I am probably making this more complicated than need be but I have searched endlessly for a solid comparison and can't find one. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
davebee123
__________________

davebee123 is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 12:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

SATA drives will work, SATAII is backwards compatible. There is really no performance boost going with SATAII as current hd's don't even max out the bandwidth of SATA.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Thanks for the reply, so let me ask another question concerning
DDR and DDR2 I have read that the performance boost for DDR2 is not much of a step above DDR. So my question is will DDR work in a DDR2 Mem slot? Anyone know? Thanks
davebee123
davebee123 is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 12:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
So my question is will DDR work in a DDR2 Mem slot?
Nope, that one is not backwards compatible. DDR2 is 240-pin and DDR is 184-pin, so it does not work.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 12:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Thanks again! Hey I noticed U have the newer style ASUS mobo. I am thinking of getting one. What is your experience with it and what are the perks U see? I see the SATA II, DDR2, Raid 0/1/Matrix Raid. Can U tell me what matrix raid is and how it works, do I understand correctly that it gives you features of raid 0 and mirroring capabilities too? Thanks again I have learned alot
davebee123
davebee123 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 08:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I've been really happy with my mobo. The main reason I went for the one I did is because of the feature to change the mulitplier.

I am not sure what matrix raid is, but what you described is can be called RAID 0+1, maybe its the same thing.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 10:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 34
Default

I did some research last night and if U R interested the way I understand it is that Matrix Raid gives U raid 0 and 1 capabilities utilizing 2 Hds instead of 4. The first halves of the drives are used as a Raid 0 and the second halves are used for a raid 1. Just thought it might interest ya. Here's the link if ya wanna check it out, pretty interesting I thought. Thanks again http://techreport.com/reviews/2005q1...d/index.x?pg=1

davebee123
davebee123 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Yeah, very interesting, hadn't heard of that one yet. Sounds pretty cool.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 07:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by davebee123
I did some research last night and if U R interested the way I understand it is that Matrix Raid gives U raid 0 and 1 capabilities utilizing 2 Hds instead of 4. The first halves of the drives are used as a Raid 0 and the second halves are used for a raid 1. Just thought it might interest ya. Here's the link if ya wanna check it out, pretty interesting I thought. Thanks again http://techreport.com/reviews/2005q1...d/index.x?pg=1

davebee123
I don't like that matrix raid array. since the drives have to now write to themselves twice (to both halves of the drive) it eliminates any speed gain by the raid 0. also, by having both drives backup half the data each, it is still not redundant. if one drive fails, half the data goes out with one, and the other half becomes unusable.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 08:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
I don't like that matrix raid array. since the drives have to now write to themselves twice (to both halves of the drive) it eliminates any speed gain by the raid 0. also, by having both drives backup half the data each, it is still not redundant. if one drive fails, half the data goes out with one, and the other half becomes unusable.
This is not completely true if you read the article.

One, the benchmarks show comparible performance to standard RAID 0, not that it adds significant performance anyways, but still, comparable.

Two, you end up with two physical drives. One RAID 0 drive and one RAID 1 drive. The data on the RAID 1 array is redundant and has the same benifits of normal RAID 1. The data on the RAID 0 array is not redundant and poses the same risk of a normal RAID 0 array.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.