SATA help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2004, 05:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to oz13ms2000
Cool SATA help

I have an MSI K8N neo2 platinum, and I am trying to get a Hitachi SATA drive to work with it. The problem is, whenever I plug in the hd and turn on the computer and reach the first screen, it freezes. I can't select to go to BIOS, I can't go to the boot screen, and I can only go into POST right when the screen comes on. I don't have this problem when the hd isn't plugged in, but I need to be able to format the hd and install WinXP.
I appreciate any help on this situation.
__________________

oz13ms2000 is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 05:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

does it complete the POST?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 05:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to oz13ms2000
Default

No it doesn't, it completes Primary and Secondary, then it goes to "Detecting IDE devices", and it freezes.
oz13ms2000 is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 05:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

Try adding a small IDE drive to you box and use the OS on it to format the SATA drive. Perhaps ssomething like this will help?

1. Beg, borrow, or beg some more to get you hands on an extra IDE hard drive drive that is big enough to hold your copy of windows.
2. Install your IDE hard drive to IDE 1 slot and set it to Master.
3. Leave your newly created Raid array alone; leave both drives attached to your SATA ports.
4. Enter BIOS.
5. Set first boot device to CD Rom and set the onboard SATA to enabled.
6. Boot from CD rom and do NOT hit F6 to load 3rd party drivers.
7. After booting from CD Rom, load windows on your IDE drive. I would go into more detail but I’m sure you know how to install Windows on an IDE hard drive or you probably would not be reading this.
8. Once Windows is installed, get to the desktop.
9. Go into device manager and you will probably see one of those yellow question marks next to the Mass Storage Controllers. Go ahead and install the SATA drivers at this point and reboot. Don’t worry about any other drivers, because were only using this drive temporarily. We only loaded the SATA drivers so we can access your Raid array from Windows.
10. Once you are back in windows, go to control panel, Administrative Tools, Computer Management. In the left window click once on disk management (near the bottom). In the bottom right window you should see a list of all the drives you have attached to your computer. Find your Raid array there, right click on it, choose format. A window will pop up asking you to label it, what file system you want, and the allocation unit size. You can label it anything you want, such as “MY DRIVE” or whatever you want, leave the file system at NTFS, and set your allocation unit size to 16K (This is your cluster size). Proceed to format the drive. NOTE: you can also create any partitions you want prior to formatting from here as well. Just make sure you format all partitions using the 16K allocation unit size (cluster size).
11. After the format procedure is finished, shut down the computer; remove the IDE drive that we just used to format your Raid array. Install all of your CD roms, setting them to the appropriate master/slave configuration, and any other NON hard drives you have on your IDE ports. It is important not to have any other IDE hard drives attached to your computer as we move on to the next step of loading Windows on you’re newly created and formatted Raid array or single SATA drive. You can install your IDE hard drives after Windows is loaded on to the Raid Array or single SATA drive
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to oz13ms2000
Default

Thanks for making that long list.
I just tried using my old IDE, but when it starts loading windows(2k), at about half way on the bar, I get a blue screen saying that there is something wrong with my IDE hd.
No where in my BIOS can I find the settings for SATA. I will probably try this on my friend's rig later on, although he has tried to install SATAs before but failed.
Again thanks for the help.
oz13ms2000 is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 06:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

Have you checked your ram and things like that to rule out a separate hardware problem?
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to oz13ms2000
Default

How do I do that.
oz13ms2000 is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 08:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

using a program like memtest86+ that you create a bootdisk from and then restart your computer and let it do it's thang
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 10:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Couldn't you just get a floppy drive with the driver loaded onto it?
Yan

Quote:
Originally posted by silence782
Try adding a small IDE drive to you box and use the OS on it to format the SATA drive. Perhaps ssomething like this will help?

1. Beg, borrow, or beg some more to get you hands on an extra IDE hard drive drive that is big enough to hold your copy of windows.
2. Install your IDE hard drive to IDE 1 slot and set it to Master.
3. Leave your newly created Raid array alone; leave both drives attached to your SATA ports.
4. Enter BIOS.
5. Set first boot device to CD Rom and set the onboard SATA to enabled.
6. Boot from CD rom and do NOT hit F6 to load 3rd party drivers.
7. After booting from CD Rom, load windows on your IDE drive. I would go into more detail but I’m sure you know how to install Windows on an IDE hard drive or you probably would not be reading this.
8. Once Windows is installed, get to the desktop.
9. Go into device manager and you will probably see one of those yellow question marks next to the Mass Storage Controllers. Go ahead and install the SATA drivers at this point and reboot. Don’t worry about any other drivers, because were only using this drive temporarily. We only loaded the SATA drivers so we can access your Raid array from Windows.
10. Once you are back in windows, go to control panel, Administrative Tools, Computer Management. In the left window click once on disk management (near the bottom). In the bottom right window you should see a list of all the drives you have attached to your computer. Find your Raid array there, right click on it, choose format. A window will pop up asking you to label it, what file system you want, and the allocation unit size. You can label it anything you want, such as “MY DRIVE” or whatever you want, leave the file system at NTFS, and set your allocation unit size to 16K (This is your cluster size). Proceed to format the drive. NOTE: you can also create any partitions you want prior to formatting from here as well. Just make sure you format all partitions using the 16K allocation unit size (cluster size).
11. After the format procedure is finished, shut down the computer; remove the IDE drive that we just used to format your Raid array. Install all of your CD roms, setting them to the appropriate master/slave configuration, and any other NON hard drives you have on your IDE ports. It is important not to have any other IDE hard drives attached to your computer as we move on to the next step of loading Windows on you’re newly created and formatted Raid array or single SATA drive. You can install your IDE hard drives after Windows is loaded on to the Raid Array or single SATA drive
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 12:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to oz13ms2000
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by YanBooth
Couldn't you just get a floppy drive with the driver loaded onto it?
Yan
That isn't my issue. My issue is that my computer freezes.
__________________

oz13ms2000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.