SATA [AHCI] ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2009, 03:01 AM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
carnageX's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,135
Default Re: SATA [AHCI] ?

Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Well, the SATA bus can transfer at 3Gb/s. But the hard drive can't read from the disk platters nearly that fast. So it can't saturate the SATA bus.
Hence why I said it's rated at 3Gb/s .

Originally Posted by Jayce View Post
Is this true even if your copy of Windows has the AHCI driver slipstreamed? I have accidentally swapped between AHCI and IDE mode with Ubuntu before and booted up each time with zero issues. I had just assumed as long as the AHCI driver existed on the Windows install, you could swap back and forth. *shrug*
If you installed the driver during initial setup you should be ok. If you try to switch from IDE to AHCI after you install, you'll have to do some driver hacking on system files, which is tedious and you might as well just reinstall Windows, as it will be easier. I've done it, and wasn't really worth the time I spent IMO. Woulda been easier to just reinstall.

Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 03:38 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556
Default Re: SATA [AHCI] ?

Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Hence why I said it's rated at 3Gb/s .
Not the drives themselves.

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to install XP 64bits on new HP desktop - problem with SATA manolain New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-01-2009 06:43 AM
SATA issues... CalcProgrammer1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 12-30-2008 03:05 PM
Migrating from IDE HDD to Sata HDD bendrichard System Upgrades 3 05-12-2008 04:48 PM
are all the SATA cables compatible with first generation SATA motherboards rookie1010 System Upgrades 6 04-06-2008 10:15 PM
SATA 2 Question juh-may-uh-kun mon System Upgrades 0 10-07-2007 10:31 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.