San diego vs clawhammer fx55 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2005, 07:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default San diego vs clawhammer fx55

ok i have the clawhammer fx55 and i was wondering what the differanace is form the 2? in preformance is one any better either?
__________________

__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 08:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

90nm vs 130nm

architectural differences in the silicon as well....other than that, same speed, same cache
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The clawhammer FX-55 wont overclock well at all, and is SSE2 comapred to venice SSE3

Basicly if you buy a clawhammer CPU, your buying 2 year old technolagy, when with a little overclocking a 3000+ can beat out a clawhamemr.

Oh yeah, venice's use ALOT less power, you will notice your power bill's will be lower
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 08:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

why did you buy a clawhammer with that system? you wasted money!
Powerslave is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 09:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

because i didnt know the differance =/
__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 09:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

That and I believe he's had this FX-55 way before the venices and san diegos came out...he didn't just recently purchase this.

And yeah duh, completely forgot to mention the fact the san diegos have the SSE3 instructions
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 09:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

ya i got this in like november or december right after it came out so i dunno if those were out yet. im happy with it anyway and i had it up over 3ghz on water so its fine for me i think
__________________

__________________
Charbo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.