safe tempreture - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2004, 12:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 50
Default safe tempreture

i have an amd athlon 1333+xp, overclocked to a 1.4. it is at 40 degrees C, is that a safe tempreture? can i put it any higher?
__________________

phake is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 01:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

Yea thats fine. You can go to 55-60C before you really worry. It aint recommended or anything, but you can.
__________________

__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

anywhere up to 60 for me id fine but once you cross that line i think you should worrie. Although Microbell he he begs to differ by being up to 75 is a safe temp becuase thats where they self shut down but i still think thats to high so we have agreed to disagree. good old bell should eat him like a big mac
XT is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 02:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
Default

My computer had a good amount of dust in it (that I will clean after I post this). Is this the reason why it randomly shuts down? How can I adjust the temp for my computer?
Haze4Dayz is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 02:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

do you have an XP1500+ or is it actually an athlon thunderbird 1.333Mhz? the difference in normal operating temperatures are different. either way i say a 1.4Ghz is a pretty moderate overclock, push that sucker harder
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 04:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 50
Default

lol, yes i do have a 1333+ xp, well im 99.99999% sure i do... i have now overclocked it to 1.43, ill have a look at the temp at the end of the day (its only 10am here in uk)
__________________

phake is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.