Safe Temperatures - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2007, 05:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ReikokuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to ReikokuKo
Default Safe Temperatures

I have an AMD Turion 64 X2 in my laptop. Idling, one core is averaging 65C and the other 60C. During load one core jumps up to even 70C. I do want to overclock, but I'm afraid if those temperatures go any higher, it will cause some damage.

What is the maximum or close estimate of the highest temperate this CPU can operate at without killing itself.

Also, is there any after market cooling I can put in a laptop? Or maybe make the only fan it has spin faster.
__________________

ReikokuKo is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Safe Temperatures

I hope you know that you can't overclock a laptop, through it's BIOS, where overclocking should take place. The only possible way is through overclocking software, which isn't recommended, for a stable overclock. And I don't think they sell aftermarket HSFs for a laptop. They're just not designed to overclock. And even if you could, I doubt you'll go far enough, to even make a difference.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ReikokuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to ReikokuKo
Default Re: Safe Temperatures

Darn...what about improving my memory timings? They're horrible ='[
ReikokuKo is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 06:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Safe Temperatures

You can try looking in the BIOS...then again, laptop BIOSs, don't really offer those kind of settings, because they weren't meant to tweak either.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Safe (Protector Suite) won't work anymore Shade 20x6 Laptops and Notebooks 2 08-24-2007 09:44 AM
safe mode toppergun Microsoft Windows and Software 10 08-24-2007 12:45 AM
x1950xt temperatures aaronkupen Overclocking and Modding 5 06-23-2007 09:16 AM
Safe mode and Novell vpx_rodder Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-15-2007 09:25 AM
XP Pro keeps rebooting to the choose a startup type screen? safe mode.... brrymnvette Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-01-2007 12:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.