Safe overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2005, 08:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
boo
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 325
Default Safe overclock

Whats the basics?

i got a G Force FX 5500

i don't wanna over do it ... just tune it up abit
__________________

__________________
` bo0
Signature
boo is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 08:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

basics = download rivatuner or coolbits registry.

Move core clock and memory clock up in increments, if you got a temperature sensor, monitor it...bump it up until you see artifacts any a benchmark like 3dmark03 then back it down
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 04:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

if you reach the point where you see artifacts, is there already a possibility of breaking ur gpu, or do you have to push it further than that?
joshd is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 04:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

youd have to push it to artifacts and just keep running it at that, playing as many games as you possibly can to heat it up and break it.

Watching for artifacts than backing down is common practice...assuming you exit from the synthetic benchmark as soon as you see artificats and back it down you're fine
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 11:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
boo
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 325
Default

okay i'll see how it goes lol
__________________
` bo0
Signature
boo is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 11:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

your not going to see much of a gain with an FX card, FX cards were never known to be that great, but if it suits your needs thats great, i not sure how well an fx 5500 overclocks. Just increase ur memory and core gradually and then test, if it is fine, bump it up some more until you hit a wall.
__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 11:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
boo
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 325
Default

okay i'm a real n00b at this so what else can i overclock? and how
__________________

__________________
` bo0
Signature
boo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.