Is this a safe OC? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2008, 06:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Default Is this a safe OC?

I am new to oc'ing and only have a few mins to type this before work so please bare with me.

Specs: Q9450
790i ultra evga mobo
9800gx2
ocz platinum 1333 ddr3 ram
Vista 64bit

Basically i have my q9450 (2.6 stock) at 3.5ghz 437.5X8 and prime is showing stable so far (few hours in). Temps under load 58 Max 38 idle on air In Realtemp. I got 18k+ on 3dmark06 and 12 second Super Pi 1M.

I left everything in bios default except For cpu core is at 1.3v and Fsb is at 1.3 also. And lastly i put my ram at the max manufactured voltage witch is 1.9 volts. I unlinked my ram and processor and did not over clock my ram at all. It is at its stock 1333 and 7-7-7-20 1.9v. One question is should they be so far from eachother when not linked and is linking them a good thing to do? I know little about adjusting the Spp/mcp And i think you only play with that when you oc your ram... right?
__________________

melioz is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 02:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Is this a safe OC?

That is a pretty safe overclock for that chip, as long as everything is stable you should be fine.

It is best to leave your ram un-linked when OC.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 02:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Default Re: Is this a safe OC?

Just ran Prime 95 for 10 hours 0 errors! Wooht
melioz is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 02:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Is this a safe OC?

Congrats, sounds like you are on the right track then.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 02:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default Re: Is this a safe OC?

The question now is. Can you push it any farther?
__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 05-31-2008, 07:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Default Re: Is this a safe OC?

Well i know the Cpu is stable, but the never ending annoyance with the 790i evga ultra still exists. Games still freeze while the sound skips and i have to do a hard restart. This is both at stock and oc. Its a huge problem with a lot of the evga 790i owners.
melioz is offline  
Old 06-04-2008, 12:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Is this a safe OC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hickfarm View Post
The question now is. Can you push it any farther?
:laughing: Don't push your cpu too far
alexsabree is offline  
Old 06-04-2008, 01:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Is this a safe OC?

^but also push it far lol
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-04-2008, 09:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Is this a safe OC?

heh, im stuck at 1540FSB - 3.08Ghz atm, my mobo doesnt seem to like 1600FSB, though i think its something to do with the memory

Im gonna see if i can get mine to about 3.5Ghz after the exam, with VID 1.28V, since you could do it with 1.30
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP home - SAFE mode crash Macabre4 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-19-2008 08:47 AM
Chinese hackers: No site is safe Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 03-08-2008 11:50 AM
Is there anyway to disable Safe mode? Plus need help with something else Oh noes Microsoft Windows and Software 12 11-27-2007 08:38 PM
My Safe (Protector Suite) won't work anymore Shade 20x6 Laptops and Notebooks 2 08-24-2007 09:44 AM
XP Pro keeps rebooting to the choose a startup type screen? safe mode.... brrymnvette Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-01-2007 12:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.