Sadly the opteron has peaked.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2006, 12:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

ok

290
10x
100MHz
1.525v
2.8v
?
1.7v
1.4v

I assume this means memory divider, set to 1:1 or 200/200
2.5
16
24
10
4
4
4
3
2
4
1T/Enable
7ns
9ns
Auto
Disable (4 burst)
Auto
Disable
8x
7x
256 clocks
Disable
?
?
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 12:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

alright thanks i'm going to try that right now
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 12:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

okay.. after trying... no go.... a few things were different than what you put. such as hyper transport.. some reason it was perentages and not a number... there is no boot... i just have it set to 2.8 right now, but i need to try the timings on 2.8, i still have not tried that
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 12:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

you can probably not worry about vLDT since it's not really that important...it would probably help if you posted your current settings though

Opterons are annoying though, for example, mine will do 280*9 at about 1.350v but after that it doesn't wanna go further without mad vcore adjustments, I think it has to do with my memory controller being weak though which is kinda lame
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 01:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well i guess 2.8 is just dandy for me, i've reached a holt that i'm probably not going to pass... but fx57 speeds seems just fine to me. But now it seems i have a gpu problem...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 12:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

guess you should have got a 3700+ ....i got mine up to 2.9 with stock cooling. and my mobo doesnt let me go past 1.45 v core
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 02:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Yeah it seems the regular 64's are doing better than these opteron thingys for the same price...
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 06:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Trying ocing the ram, see if that helps, and change the Mem divider to 5:4, that would help you, and try loosening the timings, as already stated.

DONT STOP TILL U REACH 3.0GHz, just to say you actually did something with ur life, lol.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 01:08 AM   #19 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hahahaha, ya i tell myself that often.... and i don't think it'll go higher than ddr600... but i'll give it a shot

and to whomever said the athlons worked better... lets see how's dies first when overclocked :P.... server power! haha
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 02:49 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
yes.. like the title says, the opteron will not go any higher than 2.86 ghz.... which makes me sad...
Psht, how do you think I felt having to fight to get 2.7GHz stable and that freakin requires 1.504v for that AND I'm water cooling. So you can just go to 'heck' with that sadness!

Next step is to remove my IHS......I think I just may get crazy enough to do it...
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.