Sadly the opteron has peaked.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2006, 04:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Sadly the opteron has peaked....

yes.. like the title says, the opteron will not go any higher than 2.86 ghz.... which makes me sad... ...... sniffles i got close to a 50 % increase, thats good enough for me... running dividers did not work... i have the voltage at 1.48 right now, and i don't really want to try higher.. i'm idoling at 31 degrees, and under full load its 47.. so i know its not temps... maybe i could try upping the voltage, has anyone had this barrier before, should i try upping the voltage... should i try getting 3.0 ghz??
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 05:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Have you done anything to your RAM? It might be holding you back. Mine is at 2.8ghz right now with 1.475 vCORE, i can go higher FSB but i dont want to run a higher vCORE. Ive gotton it too boot about 3ghz but i quickly shut it down...lol.

Isnt 2.86 good enough for you? I mean, you now have an awesomely fast cpu for very cheap.
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 05:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

have i done anything to my ram??? yes, yes i have! i tried running dividers, and running it 1:1!!! it just won't go any higher ....
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Please try the following settings (I don't the specifics of your memory so this is partly a guessing game, any half decent memory should boot at these settings though unless you're using BH-5/UTT chips)

Genie BIOS:
290
Auto
16/16
10x
100MHz
Disable
Startup
1.350v
+113%
1.4v
1.7v
2.8v
Enable

DRAM Settings:
1:1
Enabled
2.5
4
10
4
16
24
3
4
3
3
3120 cycles
Enabled
Auto
0
Auto
Level 3
10ns
Normal
8ns
256 cycles
Disable
16x
7x
Disable (4 burst)
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 06:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

my bio's looks nothing like that, i have phoenix, ram divider such as 1:1 isnt there, for one to one i leave it at whats claimed ddr 500... stupid abit..

i recognize most of that though, i'll try that out tonite, seeing as i'm leaving soon to my friends house thanks for the hlep though, i hope i reach my goal of 3.0 ghz
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 09:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

try changing the ram divider to 5:4, see what happens. or try OCing the ram by upping its voltage.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 12:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ahh, i havent tried upping the voltage on the ram yet, sounds good
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 09:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

keep us updated.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 09:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Try loosening the ram timmings aswell to get a higher overclock.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 11:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

alright i tried plugging in those numbers... but no good, my bios is in a totally different order than that, and i still tried... but i got long beeps, so i'm guessing i put everything in wrong. So here is the order my bios goes.

Soft Menu Setup
CPU OPERATING SPEED
-cpu fsp block
-multiplier factor
-pcie clock
VOLTAGE CONTROL
-cpu
-ddr ram
-ddr ref
-nforce4
-hypertransport

Advanced Chipset Features
DDR RAM CONFIG
-dram clock
-cas latency time
-row cycle time
-row refresh time
-min ras active
-ras to cas
-ras precharge
-ras to ras
-write recovery
-write to read delay
-read to write delay
-dram command rate
-read preamble value
-max async latency value
-bank enterleaving
-burst length
-dram drive strength
-force 64 bit
-r/w queue bypass center
-bypass max
-idle cycle limit
-dynamic idle cycle count
-mtrr mapping
-32 bit dram memory hole

if there's anything i left out thats needed just let me know and i'll edit this and add in anything else
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.