riva tnt 2 m64 overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2002, 03:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1
Question riva tnt 2 m64 overclock

is there any way i can overclock my riva tnt 2 m64 to make it run faster in games
__________________

sequence is offline  
Old 08-26-2002, 06:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,212
Default

Dig up the coolbits registry hack. This will place a Clock Frequenices tab in your Advanced Display Properties if you're using Nvidia's display drivers.

http://www.3dchipset.com/utilities/n...king/coolbits/
__________________

Chopper is offline  
Old 08-26-2002, 11:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Or if the registry hack isn't working out too good, then try NVmax... nice utility for tweaking NVIDIA cards.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 08-26-2002, 07:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to BALLIN
Default

can i run the registry hack or the other one on a xp system, i tried it with win 200 instructions but didnt work.
BALLIN is offline  
Old 08-27-2002, 01:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to SePhErUm Send a message via Yahoo to SePhErUm
Default

Just get a New video card man.
I still have a ATI Rage Pro Turbo
That runs at 75mhz For the Engine and 100 MHz for the RAM.
I overclock it to 105MHz for the engine and 118MHz for the Ram.
I might get a few more fps.. But i have alot of cooling on this card.
When it came , there was NO heatsink or fan.. I installed a heatsink and fan.
__________________
----------------------------------------
Brandon Cook
http://www.anarchy-industries.com
Pentium II 333MHz
96 MB Ram
Geforce 4 MX 440
2 SCSI 4GB Hdds\'
anything else?
SePhErUm is offline  
Old 08-28-2002, 01:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Yeah, just buy a new card... Radeon 9000's are what, $80 now? You can't go wrong for $80...
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 12-02-2002, 05:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 90
Default

I agree with everyone else, buy a new one if you've got the cash, but if you dont, Search "RivaTuner" on google and go download it. It's an excellent overclocking and tweaking tool for TNT2's. make sure you replace the stock heatsink or put a fan on the heatsink.........TNT2's get hot quick. I've got a fan installed on the stock heatsink on my TNT2 along with a slot fan drawing heat off of card and out of my case.
ikellen is offline  
Old 12-02-2002, 06:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Still, even squeezing that much performance out of a TNT2 M64 isn't gonna really help anymore - limited by the 64-bit memory path. Now it would be better to get a new card if you plan on playing newer games.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 06-20-2003, 11:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Actually, you dont need a new gfx card. it would be nice, but, it would also be nice to have an unlimited budget. the tnt2 m64 can be overclocked a good bit. the memory and chip frequencies are not fixed in relation to each other. basically, you can up the memory to about 250 mhz and the chipset to about 175. im about to go overclock mine right now. ill let you know what i overclocked it to and how it worked.
Wizard of OZ.'s is offline  
Old 06-20-2003, 01:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4
Default

yeah, that helped a little. i went from running 26 fps to about 42! i overclocked it to 160 mhz on the chip and 180 on memory. only one minor setback. it will screw your comp royally! maybe i should try a less drastic increase, haha. i'm pretty sure the site that was talking about how they overclocked it to 250 mhz memory and 175 chipset was running a liquid nitrogen cooling system, highly unllikely considering they dont exist to my knowledge, or they are full of S***. my fps still hit its low of around 5 like before. the only thing it helped was the highs i was hitting. not worth the risk. tnt2 is officially "The Little GFX Card that Couldn't" - peace
__________________

Wizard of OZ.'s is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.