right time to OC...? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2006, 10:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default right time to OC...?

I was wondering if for example, you just built a new computer and you want to OC. Is it alright to OC it out of the box? or do you run it for a couple of days before you OC.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Pretty sure you have to run it for abou a week or two before you should OC, to let the thermal paste settle, and for the CPU to burn itself in a little or something.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 10:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

http://users.bigpond.net.au/cpuburn/
Not quite sure if that will help I just built a new pc in my sig I didnt use that but Iam just gonna wait 2 to 3 weeks anyways.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 11:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

i would give it a good 2 weeks before overclocking ... just to be on the safe side
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 05:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Wait atleast a week before overclocking. Just as cyrax said, you have to let the CPU burn in.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 05:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

i dunno, but i heard somewhere that the 'burn in' thing is a myth, and cant u just burn it in buy running like prime95 and 3dmark or something? puts it on full load so.....
john3 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 08:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

That's what I did when I got my CPU. I ran prime95 for like 4 dyas straight at stock speeds then I overclocked.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 09:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

wow with all the stuff on the internet these days cpu burn-in doesnt sound the saftes "heats up any x86 CPU to the maximum possible operating temperature that is achievable by using ordinary software" sounds a little extreme, i just waited a week, i left it on two nights in that first week and its now oc'ed by 5x, im doin small intervals
__________________

__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.