Is this right? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2004, 06:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 65
Default Is this right?

Hardware monitor:

CPU Temp is staying between 125-132 degrees F even after I reapplied as5 and rotated fan intake...???
vcore @ approx. 1.69v
+3.3v @ approx. 3.41v
+5v @ approx. 4.95v
+12v @ approx. 12.54v
Chassis fan 0rpm
Power 0rpm (even though both the chassis and power fans are on and running...???)
Q-Fan control [disabled]
x fan speed ratio 10/15
x speed up/down response time 4sec/8sec

Advanced BIOS Features:

Boot Virus Detection disabled
CPU level 1 cache enabled
cpu level 2 cache enabled
quick power on self test enabled
boot 1 floppy
boot 2 hdd-0
boot 3 cdrom
boot other device enabled
Boot up numblock status on
Gate A20 option Fast
typematic rate (chars/sec) 6
typematic delay(msec) 250
apic mode enabled
os/2 onboard memory >64m disabled

Advanced Chipset Features:

cpu external freq. 166MHz
cpu frequency multiple setting auto
x cpu frequency multiple 11.5x
system performance optimal
cpu interface optimal
memory frequency auto
resulting frequency auto
x memory timings optimal
x sdram active precharge delay 7
x sdram ras to cas delay 3
x sdram ras precharge delay 3
x sdram cas latency 2T
fsb spread spectrum 0.50%
agp spread spectrum disabled
x cpu vcore setting auto
x cpu vcore 1.650v
graphics arperture size 64mb
agp frequency auto
system bios cacheable disabled
video ram cacheable disabled
ddr reference voltage 2.6v
agp vddq voltage 1.5v
agp 8x support enabled
agp fastwrite capability enabled

Integrated Periphrials:

primaryvga bios agp vga card
onbaord serial port 1 3f8/irq4
onbaord serial port 2 2f8/irq3
uart2 use as COM Port
onbaord parallel port 378/irq7
parallel port mode ecp+epp
ecp dma select 3

Power management:

acpi suspend to ram disabled
video off method dpms support
ac power loss restart disabled

PnP/PCI Configuration:

x pci resoruces exclusion
pci/vga pallette snoop disabled

nvidia system utility:

fsb 332(ddr) mhz
memory bus 332(ddr)mhz
agp bus 66mhz
cpu voltage 1.850v
memory voltage 2.60v
agp voltage 1.50v

also, my videocard originally had a red light that lit when the puter was turned on, and it stayed on, but that is no more after I took it out to reapply as5, could I have damaged something or does it matter?

What adjustments should I make?

thanks for putting up with me...
__________________

__________________
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
Maxtor 80GB/7200RPM/8MBCache/ATA-150 SATA
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ Barton
Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200/DDR400
ATi Radeon 9800Pro 128MB
Cosmic~Fury is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 07:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 112
Default

do you have an exaust fan?
__________________

Richard is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 08:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 65
Default

what is that?
__________________
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
Maxtor 80GB/7200RPM/8MBCache/ATA-150 SATA
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ Barton
Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200/DDR400
ATi Radeon 9800Pro 128MB
Cosmic~Fury is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 08:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to zero1424
Default

132F is ~55C so its not THAT bad..

how many fans in your case do you have?

....if you don't know what an exaust fan is.. then you probobly don't have any fans at all, try to fill up all of your computers fan slots and get a 1:2(intake:exaust) ratio for you fans..

an exaust fan is a fan that sucks air out of the computer.. an intake is one that blows air in. They are both the same fan, just they can be turned over to be exaust/intake.
__________________
my saucy comp
Antec PlusView case
-600w PSU - 20A @ +12v
-Evercool fan controller
-5 LED fans, 4 blue 1 green
-Lian Li T3 Temp. Monitor
-planned mods, see below
ASRock K8S8X motherboard
-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.0ghz
-Heatsink modded with Sunon Tornado, ~38C@Idle, 42C@Full Stress
-Inno3D Tornado nVidia Geforce FX 5600 128mb
-Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
-512mb DDR400 PC3200 2.5CSL
-100gb westen digital

19\" Compaq P900 // 1600x1200@70hz / 800x600@120hz
Intellimouse explorer 4.0a/Thunder8 x-ray pad

planned mods:
coming in mail:
Kingwin K8-heatsink modded with a Sunon(vantec) 84.1cfm fan, and blue lazer LED light kit
Blowholes in top of case with 2x 120mm Thermaltake Blue LED Thunderblade fans with Blade fan grills
Blue Cold Cathode
zero1424 is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 09:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 65
Default

Yes, I have a front fan blowing in which cannot be modified, a side fan blowing in, a back fan sucking out and a top fan sucking out. I can change the back fan, but its screwed in there damn tight. I originally wanted the smoke stack method with the top fan as the exhaust but I can't get the back fan off its so tight.
__________________
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
Maxtor 80GB/7200RPM/8MBCache/ATA-150 SATA
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ Barton
Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200/DDR400
ATi Radeon 9800Pro 128MB
Cosmic~Fury is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 01:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Default Re: Is this right?

Quote:
Originally posted by Cosmic~Fury
Chassis fan 0rpm
Power 0rpm (even though both the chassis and power fans are on and running...???)
that's because the fans don't go through the motherboard. that's the only way the computer can monitor them. they usually have a 3 pin (i think it's 3) that plugs right into the mobo. then that wuold show something. the fans might not have the connection, as might doesn't, or you might have not plugged it in.
umybiatch2k6 is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 05:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

i have my chassis and power fan connected to the mobo with a result of 0RPMS in the moniter program. Although, they are spinning. Is it bad to have a 120MM fan plugged into the mobo...as far as power drain?
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 05:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default Re: Is this right?

Quote:
Originally posted by Cosmic~Fury

also, my videocard originally had a red light that lit when the puter was turned on, and it stayed on, but that is no more after I took it out to reapply as5, could I have damaged something or does it matter?


thanks for putting up with me...
That red light may have been the "i'm hot" light...so the AS5 could have helped to cool it down some...but probably not more than 5 degrees. But hey...cooler is cooler.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 11:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by slvrstang
i have my chassis and power fan connected to the mobo with a result of 0RPMS in the moniter program. Although, they are spinning. Is it bad to have a 120MM fan plugged into the mobo...as far as power drain?
i always though, and i'm pretty sure that the fans don't get the power through the mobo, but directly from the psu. i might be wrong, but if i'm not, there is no drain to the mobo watsoever.
umybiatch2k6 is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 02:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

some fans (4 pin) get power from the PSU but my chassis fan and CPU fan are both 3 pin and are connected to the motherboard and ONLY the motherboard....so if they are not getting power from the motherboard then i dunno where its comin from.
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.