Review my OC.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ffmedic12

Baseband Member
This is my first time to OC. I've done alot of reading on this forum and some others. See my sig for my stock specs. Right now I have stock cooling also, but I'm waiting for UPS to arrive with a Zalman CNPS9500 and AS5.

Current OC is: 2.4 now at 3.01
Mem freq is at 250 (500) PC4000 timings set to 3-3-3-8
Bus is at 1002.3
FSB is at 250.6
My multiplier is x12
Voltage is at 1.552v
Temps with stock cooling idle CPU 32c, Board 32c under load CPU 55-60c, board 34-35c.

I have three case fans, one intake, two removal.

Question is (are) I've run the program S&M to load the system, I get everything to pass except the memory testing. That fails on the second test. I have my dimm voltage set to 2.7v. Theres really know explanation on the failure. I set up S&M to load everything 75% with 100% cpu usage. Thats all fine, except for the memory testing. I'm currently running Prime 95 for about 2.5 hours now w/o any problems. What should I do about the memory? Use memtest86? I was hoping to drop some of the timings a little. Not sure if the S&M program is a good tester or not. Any thoughts on what to do next?

Thanks Tim.

If the manufacturer specifies it can run DDR500 3-3-3-8 2.7vdimm and it's not running at those specifications, send it back to manufacturer as there's no excuse why it shouldn't

That said, you may want to try upping vdimm to 2.8 and more importantly and what I think your issue is here, you want to increase your northbridge voltage

You can try another test, but I would have to bet that if your getting mem errors, its not stable.

You have three choices to try to get the mem stable.

1. Use a divider lowering the speeds

2. Add voltage

3. Loosen timings

Your prob just going to have to play with it to see what ends up working the best.

BTW, do you know what chips that RAM uses? That would make a difference as to what vdimm would be appropriate.