Resistors?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2007, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Resistors??

Im lookin at voltmods for my board... what does the "vr" stand for when it says 20k vr resistor? would a 22k resistor work cause thats all i got.

heres the site im lookin at....

http://tom.drunken-student.co.uk/Asr...e-Vtt_read.JPG
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 09:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Resistors??

"VR" stands for variable resistor.
why would you want to modify a MB?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Re: Resistors??

more voltage = higher clocks, ive been workin towards 3.0ghz but it wont have at it..

Could i use a 22k resistor or is it to much of a difference?????
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 10:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Resistors??

can you explain too me why you want more clocks?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 10:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Re: Resistors??

Faster, get more outta ur money..

So.... 22k???
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 10:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Re: Resistors??

does it have to be a variable resistor???? anyone.
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 10:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Resistors??

Id assume more resistance means less voltage output...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 10:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Re: Resistors??

ya but i dont have a vr resistor, just 22k so it says
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 10:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Resistors??

a 22k would reduce the current goign through it even more since the original was a 20. best bet dont mess with it 1.mass produced consumer level pcbs disperse heat well and they are so small its APITA to desolder components, 2. without a good schematic to the board yo dont know what changing that resistor could do. I'm an amateur electrical engineer of sorts and trust me messing with electronics like that without a schem is a bad idea, and even if you ahve one, the number of data sheets you would have to read to make sure you are within the parts tolerances is enough to drive you mad.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 10:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Re: Resistors??

so... its a no go or...... hmmmmmm dammit
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.