Requirements For Overclocking E6600??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2007, 07:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Default Requirements For Overclocking E6600???

I have an E6600, and I have two questions:

-Is it better to overclock with programs are straight on the BIOS?

-I only have five 120mm. fans and a heatsink (not stock, but I don't the manufacturer) for the CPU. Is it safe to overclock? I'm aiming for 2.7GHz+. Is that reasonable with my cooling system?

Much thanks alot very appreciate and more.
__________________

the:megalon is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 07:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Requirements For Overclocking E6600???

Overclocking these days are fool-proof. It's better to overclock through the BIOS. Software overclocking is not reliable and stable. What are your temperatures? With five 120mm fans, I'm assuming your temps are pretty good. With good temps, you can take it to 3.0+...with good a good overclocking motherboard and memory, of course.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 08:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Default Re: Requirements For Overclocking E6600???

I'm pretty sure the Asus 680i Mobo is good for overclocking. But I'm not sure about the temperature. Can you suggest some software to monitor the temperature? A software that's reliable?

The reason I'm a bit worried about overclocking is because I have an 8800Gtx. Those can get quite hot. So...
the:megalon is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 08:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Requirements For Overclocking E6600???

I use Everest and it's a very good program for monitoring. You could also use Speedfan or PCWizard.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 12:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
colin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
Default Re: Requirements For Overclocking E6600???

I use pc wizard google pc wizard 2007 its within 1 degree of my mobo and temp probe so in my experience it is pretty accurate
__________________
ASUS EeePC 1000HA
__________________________________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 / XIGMATEK HDT-S1283
GA-P35 DS3R
G.SKILL 2 x 2GB DDR2 1066
GTX 260
SG 500GB WD 640GB
Corsair VX 450W
Vista Ultimate 64-bit/X-FI Music
colin is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 12:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: Requirements For Overclocking E6600???

You shouldn't have a problem with getting a good over clock.
__________________

augest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.