Removing Thermal Paste? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2007, 04:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Removing Thermal Paste?

Well I'm getting my Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro next week and I was wondering how I am suppose to get the stock thermal paste out. Do I use rubbing alcohol [read some threads about removing thermal paste]? And if I do use rubbing alcohol, what's the method of removing the thermal paste?
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 05:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Removing Thermal Paste?

My advice is to get a coffee filter or some other lint-free cloth. Coffee filters are lint-free and work great.

Just get some rubbing alcohol on your cloth of choice and then scrub. It comes off pretty easily. Make sure you get it all off though, and try not to push it all off the sides and make a mess.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 02:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Removing Thermal Paste?

So get a coffee filter and put some rubbing alcohol on it and rub it off?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 02:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Removing Thermal Paste?

when the alochol (on the coffee filter) hits the thermal paste, it will come right off of the heatsink.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 02:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Removing Thermal Paste?

Wait... so I dip the coffee filter into the rubbing alcohol, put it right on top of the CPU and it comes off?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 02:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Removing Thermal Paste?

You can put a little drop of alcohol, and then rub it off. Or just put some one the coffee filter, and rub it off.

Wait you're getting the AF7 Pro? Dude....you don't need thermal paste, because the thermal pad on the AF7 Pro is the MX-1, and it's better than AS5 thermal paste.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 02:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Removing Thermal Paste?

i say put it on the filter. rub the filter onto the paste, wipe it all off, and dry with a new coffee filter.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 02:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Removing Thermal Paste?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
You can put a little drop of alcohol, and then rub it off. Or just put some one the coffee filter, and rub it off.

Wait you're getting the AF7 Pro? Dude....you don't need thermal paste, because the thermal pad on the AF7 Pro is the MX-1, and it's better than AS5 thermal paste.
No b1gapl! The stock thermal paste!
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 02:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Removing Thermal Paste?

Oh the stock thermal paste off the stock cooler? ok...man...its 2am...no wonder..
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 02:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Removing Thermal Paste?

Haha, you should go hit the sack b1gapl.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quick question about thermal paste, please reply ASAP thanks. Snake64_009 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-05-2007 11:21 AM
Thermal Paste Nick Overclocking and Modding 4 07-02-2007 09:35 PM
cpu thermal paste... advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 4 06-29-2007 11:40 AM
CPU Issue. Please Help objecterror Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 05-31-2007 02:12 PM
Thermal Paste? NathanLedet New Systems | Building and Buying 17 04-30-2007 10:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.