Reformatting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2005, 01:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default Reformatting

I'm going to college really soon, and instead of trying to clean up the crap I have on this computer, I'm going to just reformat it. My only concern is overclocking. I have a stable overclock, so can I reformat and still keep my overclock, or should I set everything back to the way it was first?

Also, I zipped some things to transfer over, but I am wondering, if programs are running while it is zipping, will it affect it and ruin what it was doing? I'd assume not, but I want to make darn well sure before I reformat this bad mammer jammer.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 01:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

everything should be fine. reformatting doesnt affect the bios so your oc will remain, and about the zipped files as long as you didnt get a file in use error you should be fine...
__________________

__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 01:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Sweet... a few more things to copy, and I'm off to reformat. Then I suppose I'll have to put Microsoft Word and Excel and all that good stuff on here for college.

Now that I think about it, before I do it, are there any Windows XP updates that I should NOT get? I know some have been known to screw things up in the past.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 01:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

i havent had any screw anything up i would just reformat normal and install sp2 and your drivers and stuff then update and your should be good.
__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 02:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Thanks, I had more questions, but I figured "Overclocking" isn't the place for them, so I put up a post in the Windows Operating System section. Thanks for your help.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 12:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Hey, its been a while since I last reformatted my sisters comp, and for some reason forgot how to do it, could someone take me through the process of reformatting Windows XP?
Thanks
__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 01:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Put the cd in the cd drive, go into ur bios and change the boot order so that it can boot from the cd exit the bios saving changes and it should boot from the cd... then just follow the on-screen instructions to reformat and reinstall windows.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

« pipelines | p4 fan »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.