The Reconstruction of Sable - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2010, 12:30 AM   #41 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: The Reconstruction of Sable

The dock at the top? RocketDock. The bottom one is Yahoo! Widgets (the clock in the upper left of the right screen and the weather widget in the upper right).
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 12:53 AM   #42 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: The Reconstruction of Sable

Yep that rocketdock was it. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 12:58 AM   #43 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
looks like it's time to whip out the dremel

have you noticed any difference in temps?
Actually, no... but I was running my old case with the front open and a 120mm fan rigged up in the 5.25 bays. I am getting the same temps with my case all buttoned up and the fans on low.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abstract Hero View Post
Yep that rocketdock was it. Thanks.
No problem. I used to use ObjectDock, but found RocketDock to use less resources and respond quicker to boot.

I just hate having icons on my desktop. The second tile on the dock is Desktop Shortcuts; it opens up a file on my C: drive where I drop all the desktop shortcuts. If I need to get to one, I hit the dock and scroll to it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 01:04 AM   #44 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: The Reconstruction of Sable

I hate files on my desktop too so this is perfect. Good idea on the C directory.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 01:08 AM   #45 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: The Reconstruction of Sable

Of course, you always put your main ones on the dock itself.

Another good one is to use a tile to pull up your downloads folder(s)/drive(s). I use the crap out of that one.

Hmmm... I may have to do a review on my monitor. I think Antec has discontinued my case so a review on it now would be pointles.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 02:09 AM   #46 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: The Reconstruction of Sable

Did the downloads folder already

I'm going to review my case next but a monitor one would be good.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 06:31 AM   #47 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: The Reconstruction of Sable

Are you not using the TX-650? What's that grey PSU in the bottom pic?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 09:53 AM   #48 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: The Reconstruction of Sable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Are you not using the TX-650? What's that grey PSU in the bottom pic?
Antec Earthwatts 650. I am going to put the TX-650 in my wife's computer.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 04:11 PM   #49 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: The Reconstruction of Sable

It's good to know that I'm not the only one who couldn't manage much wire management in the 300. I'm glad you posted a pic of how tight of a fit it was for your GTX 260 too, both my 8800gs and 4850 are non reference cards that happen to be shorter than normal so I never really put much though into just how much space a high end gpu would take up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
I just hate having icons on my desktop. The second tile on the dock is Desktop Shortcuts; it opens up a file on my C: drive where I drop all the desktop shortcuts. If I need to get to one, I hit the dock and scroll to it.
Doesn't that replicate the functionality that's already present in the Windows 7 task bar? I don't use icons either and used to use object dock on xp but between pinning applications to the task bar and jump lists I haven't needed anything extra for 7.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 05:01 PM   #50 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: The Reconstruction of Sable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
Doesn't that replicate the functionality that's already present in the Windows 7 task bar? I don't use icons either and used to use object dock on xp but between pinning applications to the task bar and jump lists I haven't needed anything extra for 7.
Yes it does. I've used a dock for so long that it is just second nature to me now. I tried pinning stuff to the taskbar and it just felt... weird. I never cared of QuickLaunch, though, so I guess that had something to do with it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Big reconstruction reddeffect System Upgrades 1 08-06-2009 01:13 AM
RvB reconstruction 35g700 Microsoft XBox 3 07-23-2008 10:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.