The Reason For Socket 754 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2005, 09:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default The Reason For Socket 754

If I upgrade to an Athlon 64 platform, this is why I would upgrade socket 754socket.

Athlon 64 - 1600bus - 1MB Cache - Cool temps - GREAT PRICE!

There are 3200+, 3400+, and 3700+ flavors too!


AMD Athlon 64 3000+, 1MB L2 Cache, 64-bit Processor for DTR Notebooks - OEM (limit 5 per customer)


- Specifications -

Model: AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Core: ClawHammer
Operating Frequency: 1.8 GHz
FSB: Integrated into Chip
Cache: L1/64K+64K; L2/1MB
Voltage: 1.5V
Process: 0.13Micron
Socket: Socket 754
Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, SSE2, 3DNOW!, 3DNOW!+
Packaging: OEM(Processor Only)


$135.00
__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 09:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

they are cheap but they suck.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yes but 939 has fx-55 and many more. its also future ugradable.
phosho510 is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 09:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

what makes that DTR a mobile? same artethicure and voltage as normal clawhammers.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 09:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

it has 1mb of L2 cache
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 09:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

the 3400+ 64 mobile is supposed to be a nice overclocker. Seen a lot of 2.7GHz clocks, buuuut I'd rather get a 3500+ socket 939 winnie and OC that to 2.7GHz, I've seen it hit those speeds also
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 03:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

754 doesnt have dual channel as well.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 07:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Ace No-Money... Those reasons for going 754 arent valid...
First, 754 lacks dual channel memery. But provides 1MB L2 cache. Since 939 low-end processor lack 1mb L2 cache, while 754 lacks dual channel memery. Neither one of two advatages of the sockets benefit for the better. Basically, since they both lack 1 of the other, they are equal for the dual channel memery and 1mb L2 cache factor. So just because 754 has 1mb L2 cache, does not mean its a real advantage. Same with 939.

Second, 939 has 2.0ghz HTT, witch is alot better. Another big factor is 939 runs at the same operating frequency as 754, but stays cooler and faster. So thats a big advantage. Even 939 supports 3000-3200-3400, im not sure about 3700, but for the price of the 3700, you should just get the 3800.

Sockt 754 does not support 90nm, but 939 does. Again making 939 running cooler, and ideal for OC. It sounds like you dident understand why 939 was soooo much better. Because you wouldent of made this thread. But 939 is ideal for AMD64's.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 09:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

AMD's new Turion mobile 64 CPUs are 754s.

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/..._12663,00.html

From what I've read so far, 754 is not a bone-head move after all. Considering that AMD has already said that it will go with dual-core mobile CPUs and all.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 11:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

but wont the dual-core be s939?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.