A [really?] basic ocing question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2006, 02:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default A [really?] basic ocing question

These are the steps I go through when I oced my CPU, but for some reason, I feel that Im missing out some steps.. or maybe I can't oc with the stuff I have?

1. Get into bios, up cpu speed by .5 mhz
2. up voltage by .25V / .5V
3. Reboot and do a prime95 test and a memtest.

With a venice core amd 64 3500+ and pc3200 1 gb RAM DDR [dual channel 512mb 2x], I can only go from 200 MHZ fsb [11x multiplier] to 205 mhz with a stable system, but if I up to 210 fsb speed the system goes unstable.

So basically the oc which I've carried out is mega small, without even reaching a one whole ghz oc.
Should I be ocing my ram at the same time? [shall I be tightening or loosening timings if I do]

Thanks.

I'll post my ram brand name in a sec when I pop open my pc.

P.S is ddr ram or ddr sdram better
__________________

Willeh is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 02:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

First, read through the A64 OC'ing sticky. Then, after you read it, read it again

A few tips. Make sure the LDT multi is lowered to x4. Some boards will lower it automatically, but IMO it is best to set this manually to make sure. x4 is OK up to 250 "FSB" then will have to be lowered to x3 at 250+.

Take your RAM out of the equation at the beginning. Set a divider of 3:2 or 2:1 FSB:RAM. This may look like 133 or 266 for 3:2 or 100 or 200 for 2:1 in the BIOS depending on your board.

Once you figure out your max CPU OC, you can then apply a better divider to the RAM.

Lock PCI-e/AGP/PCI in BIOS.

Now that you have done that, you can start increasing FSB and increasing vcore as needed. Continue to monitor stability and temps.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 04:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

Okay read through it all a few times, I was originally reading the sticked post 'basics to ocing' or whatever it was called.


To overclock up 200 mhz fsb, my ram needs to be rated at higher speeds, so basically I need to OC my ram running frequency speeds so my ram/cpu or whatever can keep up with the cpu OC.

But since I can't oc my ram in bios, I figured when I up my fsb on the cpu, it also ups the running frequency on the RAM so 205mhz (2.25ghz) on cpu is 205 on the ram, to stabilise I need to up the voltage on the ram aswell.
I also checked that the ram is ddr-sdram in my system.
Can I get confirmation that what I collected was right
Thanks

EDIT: My bios does have ram timing edits etc
Willeh is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 04:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

....read the stickies again. You obviously overlooked the parts that discussed memory dividers.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 05:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

It said somewhere that memory dividers weren't that good but I'll re-read the stickes again
Willeh is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 05:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

weren't that good?

If you want to OC your CPU over 100-200mhz They are REQUIRED
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gurusan
weren't that good?

If you want to OC your CPU over 100-200mhz They are REQUIRED
Well, it depends on the setup. With an 939 system and DDR RAM, about your best bet at 1:1 and a high OC is with some TCCD's that will do ~ DDR600 many times.

On Intel systems, there is often a lot of RAM headroom in OC's due to DDR2. I have ~1.1Ghz OC at 1:1

Back on topic though, you do need to spend some more time reading the stickies first. Also post FULL specs of your PC.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 06:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 266
Default

Okay I set the ram mhz thingy [can't remember what it's called] from 200MHZ to 166MHZ, I can now oc past the limit which I couldn't before with stability [a test with prime before couldn't even last 10 minutes without failure, now it can last 20 minutes w/o failure]. I don't think I should get too excited.. will do a much much longer prime test later.

Thanks so much for the help all
__________________

Willeh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.