Ready to Overclock, please help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2010, 06:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Ready to Overclock, please help!

Alright guys I am ready to overclock my cpu, and gpu and stuff, and need some help. So whenever you guys are ready just let me know what to post and I will. Thanks in advance.
__________________

CJ28-2k6 is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 06:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Ready to Overclock, please help!

download CPUZ:

MajorGeeks.Com - Contacting Download Site

and post screen shots of the CPU and Memory tabs

also, what motherboard do you have? what kind of CPU cooler do you have? what graphic cad do you have? do you have an aftermarket cooler on the graphics card? what ram do you have? what power supply do you have? do you have the most up to date bios for your mother board?

lets start there...
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Re: Ready to Overclock, please help!



Cooler is Cooler Master V8
Memory is G.Skill MEM 2Gx2|GSKILL F3-12800CL7D-4GBRM
PSU is XFX 750W
Bios is updated.
No cooler for GPU
CJ28-2k6 is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Ready to Overclock, please help!

can you put them in a group and crop it so its easier to read please?

but it looks like you have a 1090T and a 58xx series card

so take a look at these videos, do what he deos and ask any questions you have here...





also, download and install this program ( http://www.youwatched.com/datajay/linx(0.64).7z ) , to run the test, go to settings and click on " 64 bit " then click " okay " then click on the " all " button then click on " runs " and select " 3 runs " then click " start ". do this before and after you overclock your processor to see how much of a performance gain you have gotten...
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Re: Ready to Overclock, please help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean W. View Post
can you put them in a group and crop it so its easier to read please?

but it looks like you have a 1090T and a 58xx series card

so take a look at these videos, do what he deos and ask any questions you have here...





also, download and install this program ( http://www.youwatched.com/datajay/linx(0.64).7z ) , to run the test, go to settings and click on " 64 bit " then click " okay " then click on the " all " button then click on " runs " and select " 3 runs " then click " start ". do this before and after you overclock your processor to see how much of a performance gain you have gotten...
Yes its the AMD 1090T and the graphics is a 5850 from Sapphire. If I knew how to crop I would. And I am going to watch those videos, does it matter which order?
CJ28-2k6 is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 09:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Ready to Overclock, please help!

njo, one if for the graphics card and one if for the processor
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 10:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,663
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Ready to Overclock, please help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ28-2k6 View Post
Yes its the AMD 1090T and the graphics is a 5850 from Sapphire. If I knew how to crop I would. And I am going to watch those videos, does it matter which order?
Start > Programs > accessories > snipping tool. Just group the windows as close together as you can, then use the tool to screenshot them. upload to imageshack and don't resize
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 10:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Re: Ready to Overclock, please help!


CJ28-2k6 is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 10:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,663
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Ready to Overclock, please help!

Now watch the videos Sean posted They'll give you an idea on how to overclock. Or, search the overclocking and case modding area here for threads on how to do it.
Once you get up a little higher, iff you hit issues, or if you just want feedback on how you're going, post back here
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 11:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Re: Ready to Overclock, please help!

Alright, so far so good. Couple questions though. 1. When I am trying to run AMD Clock tool, it says I have to right click and run as administrator, but when I do, theres no option for that. How do I get around this? 2. What programs should I run to make sure my CPU is going to stay stable overclocked, and what tempeture should I be trying to stay below?
__________________

CJ28-2k6 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting ready to overclock Deadpixel Overclocking and Modding 4 02-18-2008 07:30 AM
Ready to overclock J9Darkwing Overclocking and Modding 20 02-02-2008 02:37 AM
Ok so ready to overclock Deadpixel Overclocking and Modding 8 07-27-2007 06:43 PM
Getting ready to overclock spartan1121 Overclocking and Modding 33 01-23-2007 11:24 AM
ready to overclock aliasaid Overclocking and Modding 36 03-09-2006 10:35 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.