Ready to overclock my first build!! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2008, 09:33 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
set vcore to 1.25, set FSB to 400 and hope it boots
Im seriously gonna do that. were you joking about the hope it boots thing?
__________________

orion233 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:37 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

it'll most likely boot don't worry
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:37 PM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
set vcore to 1.25, set FSB to 400 and hope it boots
Im seriously gonna set it to that. were you joking about the hope it boots thing? Because if your serious than im not going to.
orion233 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:40 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

if it doesn't boot, it means theres not enough voltage, but with these E8XXX series, you won't have a problem...make sure ram is set 1:1 or unlinked


just reset your CMOS and it'll revert back to stock settings if you can't get it to boot afterwards
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:44 PM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default

ROFL what is CMOS and how do I reset them?

BTW
I have DDR2 RAM I should still be able to run what your telling me right?

ok i set my Cpu voltage to 1.25 and my FSB to 400. now what do i do?
oh and you said to set the "vcore" I didnt see that so I assumed that it was the cpuvol for my motherboard?
orion233 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 11:01 PM   #26 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

yep... vcore is the voltage across the die... if you've got it set at 1.25V and it boots then that's sweet... if it doesn't boot, then put a bit more voltage through the core (try 1.3-1.35V to compensate for the mad droop P45s get), and set the MCH (NB) voltage to 1.2-1.3V... make sure you've got your RAM timings and voltage set manually and run them at the lowest speed (1:1 ratio = DDR2 800) you can for now
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 11:40 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

uuh how do i set my ram timings and voltage? and how do I know if it didnt boot or not? and for some reason my mch voltage doesn't reach higher than like .60
I see RAM timing options but I dont know what to do because there is so many different things to pick from
__________________

orion233 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my build good? overlord20 New Systems | Building and Buying 52 10-28-2008 12:57 AM
First Computer Build, Need Suggestions Merzavets New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-20-2008 04:47 PM
$1200 Build for friend. 35g700 New Systems | Building and Buying 30 10-08-2008 07:11 PM
Finally - My Build is ready but needs the last little tweeks! skele89 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-07-2008 10:23 PM
My new build is FINALLY ready krazyq Overclocking and Modding 21 09-11-2007 10:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.