Ready to overclock my first build!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2008, 12:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default Ready to overclock my first build!!

Ok guys Im new to this overclocking stuff. I just built my new PC and I want to over clock it.
Can anyone give me recommendations?

Specs

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500
GPU: ATI Radeon 4870 HD 1GB
RAM:G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Memory


PS: The temp gauges on my case sy my CPU is around 34-40 degrees
Also if you guys need more info on my PC Specs I will gladly post!
__________________

orion233 is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 12:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 341
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

What kind of mobo do you have?
__________________

__________________
D-Rocks is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 12:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

ROFL I knew I was missing something important.

MOBO: Biostar I45

I believe it holds the record for overclocking performance.
orion233 is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 08:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

Howto: Overclock C2q (quads) And C2d (duals) - A Guide V1.7 - OverclockersClub Forums
Howto: Minimizing Vcores And Operating Temps-must Read - OverclockersClub Forums

Check these out, they should help you learn the terminology and the basics and such. If, after reading those, you still have questions feel free to post em up.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

for some reason I cant connect to any of the links you posted
orion233 is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 11:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

Odd, they work fine for me.

Firewall issue maybe?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 06:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

I dont think so, none of my PC's can connect to it
orion233 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 07:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by orion233 View Post
I dont think so, none of my PC's can connect to it
clear your Private Data (cache, cookies, history, etc.)... sounds like what happens to the egg for me sometimes... just killin the cookies usually helps...

as for OCing, at a very basic level, its simply a matter of increasing the FSB and voltage while ensuring the temps aren't out of line... but that's a very highly simplified explanation... you should read one of the guides posted above (or this one -> http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/24...ds-duals-guide) and gain some knowledge before you go cranking anything up
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

my mobo actually has a function to automatically over clock. Is that safe?
orion233 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 262
Default Re: Ready to overclock my first build!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by orion233 View Post
my mobo actually has a function to automatically over clock. Is that safe?
yeah but i think its by very small increments
__________________

v8killaz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my build good? overlord20 New Systems | Building and Buying 52 10-28-2008 12:57 AM
First Computer Build, Need Suggestions Merzavets New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-20-2008 04:47 PM
$1200 Build for friend. 35g700 New Systems | Building and Buying 30 10-08-2008 07:11 PM
Finally - My Build is ready but needs the last little tweeks! skele89 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-07-2008 10:23 PM
My new build is FINALLY ready krazyq Overclocking and Modding 21 09-11-2007 10:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.