Ready To Order - One Last Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2005, 05:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 57
Default Ready To Order - One Last Problem

Hi, okies, first of all thanks to MasterJason for helping me with this build, and thanks to neosteve too for his general help with some issues.

Well to put it simply my finger is hovering over the place order problem. Now then before i do this want to make sure everything is going to fit together. I don't want to go buying a case that is not going to house all the components (there's a lot of components).

Now then, as i have mentioned in previous posts i have never actually built my own PC before, which is why i am having doubts about housing issues. A few months back i bought this book:

'Haynes - Build your own Computer'

So having got my final list of components i decided to take another browse thru it (already read it cover to cover) and im a little concerned with regards to connecting all the components to the MotherBoard etc, and whether there are enough '4-pin' sockets or whether the MoBo will fit in the case - my book mentioned something about 'ATX' and 'BTX' and sizes relating to these, but i cant seem to see much relating to this on the sites.

I have spent the best part of the last two hours going through all the websites were i am buying the components and comparing it to the book i have in front of me.

So i'm gonna beg for your help please! Although i really want to get this ordered, i want it to be right before i actually order it. Below are the links to the components i am buying in some sort of order.

Operating System: Windows XP Professional

MotherBoard: DFI LanParty NF4 SLI-DR

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 FX55

Video Cards: 2 * XFX GeForce 6800 GT 256MB DDR3

HDD: 2 * Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM

HDD: 1 * Western Digital Caviar Special Edition 250GB

Optical Drive: Plexator DVD+/- 16x

PSU: OCZ PowerStream 600W

RAM: OCZ Platinum EL Dual Channel Kit 2x512MB

Soundcard: Creative Labs Audigy 2 ZS Platinum 7.1 Surroundsound

Case: CoolerMaster Stacker STC-T01 with Side Window

Case Add'ons: Coolermaster Stacker 4in3 Device Module
(Converts 3 of the 5.25" bays into 4 3.5")

Case Cooling: Coolermaster Cross Flow Fan
Cooling Fan 80mm for PC Case

I appreciate it may take some time if anyone wants to help me with this, but i am ever greateful.

Moja
__________________

Moja is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The CoolerMaster Stacker is a ****ing huge case, and I'm almost certain that it can support any motherboard you want to put in there.

I'm pretty sure you'll have an ATX motherboard, which most cases will support no problem. I'm pretty sure that BTX is a server motherboard, although I can't remember, but either way, I am almost positive that a full tower case will have no motherboard compatibility issues.

I'd honestly be more worried about stretching your cables accross that monster. :P
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

it all looks good man. you shouldnt worry about the motherboard size. that case is big and it's ATX anyway. if you dont have enough molex connectors you can just get a second cheap PSU and mount it in the case. that case is so big it has a lot of possibilities. Just like mine
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 57
Default

So basically even if there aint enough ports on the MoBo, there's ways around it?

Moja
Moja is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I'd say so. You can even use cable splitters if you run out of connections.

http://store.pchcables.com/powercables1.html
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 12:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 57
Default

Ok thanks for the link, ill put it together and hope i dont get any promlems

Moja
Moja is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 06:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

good luck dude.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 06:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

by the way there doing the cooler master stacker at pc world for 69 quid might be worth checking out it
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 09:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

everything will work fine.... no, more than fine, it will work amazingly well!
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 04:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 57
Default

Lol i hope so :P I just want there to be enough sockets for plugs tbh

My case came today, and it is very big. Didn't realise the size, still only a good thing i think

Moja
__________________

Moja is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.