Re: Overclocking: What voltage do I increase-BIOS pic included

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hookster264

In Runtime

I am new to overclocking and began last night. I was successfully able to increase my FSB so my cpu is at about 2.4GHz, but it is starting to become unstable. I know I'm supposed to increase voltage but which one do I increase? I read I should start with memory, then chipset, then core. Is that correct? I recognize the memory and cpu voltage, but which one is the chipset voltage? see pic below. Thanks in advance!

BIOSvolt.jpg

i dont know where you read that the first thing you should do is start increasing voltage...hopefully not here....but there are several things to try with an amd before you start jacking up the voltage. certainly before you raise the memory voltage.
dude did you increase the voltage to your memory to 2.64????
that is way too high for that gskill, man. you are braver than i am running it that high, i am surprised it runs stable AT ALL, really that you havent cooked it. that ram is rather sensitive to over-voltage.
you have 1.56 to your cpu, that is plenty for that brisbane, certainly if it is only running at 2.4. you should be able to do that with stock voltage.
i run mine at 3ghz using less voltage than yours is set for in your bios.
here is the likely reason(s) it is unstable:
you're running your ht too high, if you are at 250 x 9.5, and your ht multiplier is still 5, that puts your hypertransport at 1250, which will likely be causing instability. lower it to 4, if you go much over 1000, you should put it to 3.
this is most likely the culprit, along with:
your ram may be overclocked too much. if you haven't lowered the speed in bios and still running it at ddr2 800, it may be running too high. not to mention that voltage. although if you have your cpu at 2400mhz, that is only 480mhz if your ram is set to stock. most HZ that i have seen will do that pretty easy. mine does.