Re-Considering Overclocking - Page 8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2007, 10:56 PM   #71 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

Do you have a floppy drive?

BIOS
BIOS flash tool
DOS boot disk
instructions

create the boot disk, copy the BIOS file to the disk

reboot, and make sure it boots from the floppy

If/when it loads successfully, type:

AWDFLASH [filename].bin

OR

AFU836 [filename].BIN

where [filename] is the name of the BIOS file you downloaded

press 'y'

then press 'y' again

then when it's finished, take the floppy out and press F1
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:03 PM   #72 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

do i have to do anything with the jumpers?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:21 PM   #73 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
do i have to do anything with the jumpers?
no.

But anyway, I just found a different flash utility, which you can run from within Windows
BIOS FLASH Utility & Update Inst

it's called Winflash
I just used it to update my C51XEM2AA's BIOS to the latest version
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:33 PM   #74 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

i just flashed my bios from the floppy disk. But there is still on core being used.
Are you sure this mobo supports opty 165.
Do u think my winxp recovery disk from emachines has anything to do with this?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:47 PM   #75 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
i just flashed my bios from the floppy disk. But there is still on core being used.
Are you sure this mobo supports opty 165.
Do u think my winxp recovery disk from emachines has anything to do with this?
It would be very strange for an Nforce4 ultra board not to support dual core Opterons, especially after a BIOS update.

You could try downloading AMD's dual core processor driver here

there's also the dual core optimiser here
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 12:03 AM   #76 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

did both of those and no luck.

I might just call new egg and tell them it their processor is defected.
The ill just buy a x2 4200.

Or do you think i should but another mobo. If i buy a new mobo and processor from new egg i can get a good combo deal.
I think ill forget about overclocking at the moment.
If you think i should get a new mobo, which one should i get that will support the x2 4200 and run stable without any problems.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 12:45 AM   #77 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

im planning on doing this tonight so i can get it asap...i start work on monday so i wont have time to be on the pc much.
Im planning to return my opteron and planning to get the x2 3800 or x2 4200.
I need to know:
if my mobo will support it? and
do those processors make a big diff?
if i get the 3800 will i be able to oc easily to a 4200?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 04:06 AM   #78 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

i tried flashing the bios again and i realized this error had come up.
CMOS checksom error
Loading default settings.

I checked cpu-z and it shows the new driver date.

Did my bios even get updated? if not, how to fix that checksum error
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 05:03 AM   #79 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
When overclocking an AMD K8 processor, you will be looking for the HTT speed, not the FSB speed.

AMD's CPU's use an integrated memory controller, instead of having to go through the northbridge.

Anyway, when watching your temperatures, try to make sure it stays under 60C on full load. Lower is better, but 60C is usually where it is starting to get dangerous.

the K8 CPU's can take up to about 1.60-1.65V before it starts to get dangerous.

But If you go past about 1.5V on the core, try to increase the HTT voltage by up to +0.15V.
Sometimes there can be stability problems if the core voltage is too high against the HTT voltage

And like nagasama mentioned, the HTT multiplier should be lowered to at least 4x

the HTT speed for socket 939 and AM2 systems is 1000MHZ, with an effective speed of 2000MHZ

That speed is obtained by multiplying the base HTT speed with the HTT multiplier (200 x 5 = 1000MHZ)
lowering it to 4x gives you headroom to go up to 250MHZ base HTT speed before the full HTT bus is increased past 1000MHZ again (250MHZ x 4 = 1000MHZ)

If the HTT speed goes past 1000MHZ, it can become unstable. But it depends on the quality of the board. Some boards can sustain a higher HTT speed.

Socket 754 has a lower HTT speed of 800MHZ (effective 1600MHZ speed) and a 4x stock HTT multiplier.
Make sure you grab service pack 2 for XP again

*edit*
this is what the task manager should look like:


except for the carbon fiber skin I have. two graphs side by side at the top
How do you actually get it to look like carbon fiber? Are you 1337?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 12:30 PM   #80 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

i intalled that and it didnt work.
I looked around in my mobo and no luck.
Im not sure if this has to do anything with it, but could it be my xp version?
I have an emachines recovery disk...all it does is restore my computer to its original state.
And its Windows media cented edition 2005.
when i check my boot.ini it shows xp home?

if i install xp pro, would it make a difference?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
ASUS Announces Hardware Based Real-time Overclocking Device Osiris Overclocking and Modding 2 07-06-2007 11:44 AM
video card overclocking, I have a question AMD6415 Overclocking and Modding 5 06-15-2007 09:58 PM
Shutdown problem when overclocking Zatio89 Overclocking and Modding 6 05-20-2007 09:50 PM
I want to know about Overclocking for New Computer bbcrew Overclocking and Modding 3 05-10-2007 12:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.