Re-Considering Overclocking - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2007, 11:45 AM   #61 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

if my mobo craps out on me...or if it doesnt oc well at all...which of the following should i get:
DFI Lanparty UT Ultra D NF4 DFI Ultra-D Socket 939 AMD
or
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe Motherboard Socket 939

both of them are on ebay...theyre used, like new.
How much should i pay max for each of them...this is only if my mobo craps out on me.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 03:04 PM   #62 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

dfi with the nf4 ultra (awesome chipset for s939). dont know how much its worth.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 04:14 PM   #63 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

BIG PROBLEMO...mobo doesnt fit in my case.
IM SO ****ED.
Luckily my IT manager has a case at his house, he gets off at 4 and thats when im gonn go with him and get it.

Since his case is bigger than mine...do you think ill be running into any more problems? or should I be fine.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 04:31 PM   #64 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

nah, if he has an atx case it should be fine
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 06:35 AM   #65 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

well it did not fit...luckily my manager gave me a case for free and it fit.
I got everything hooked up. BUT it shows only one core is being used.
The main reason i got this mobo is cos my previous one wouldnt recognize opterons...please dont tell me this is the same problem.
I just re-formatted my whole pc, im going to try flashing the bios now...if that doesnt work then im just goot with bad lu ck.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 07:56 AM   #66 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

When overclocking an AMD K8 processor, you will be looking for the HTT speed, not the FSB speed.

AMD's CPU's use an integrated memory controller, instead of having to go through the northbridge.

Anyway, when watching your temperatures, try to make sure it stays under 60ºC on full load. Lower is better, but 60ºC is usually where it is starting to get dangerous.

the K8 CPU's can take up to about 1.60-1.65V before it starts to get dangerous.

But If you go past about 1.5V on the core, try to increase the HTT voltage by up to +0.15V.
Sometimes there can be stability problems if the core voltage is too high against the HTT voltage

And like nagasama mentioned, the HTT multiplier should be lowered to at least 4x

the HTT speed for socket 939 and AM2 systems is 1000MHZ, with an effective speed of 2000MHZ

That speed is obtained by multiplying the base HTT speed with the HTT multiplier (200 x 5 = 1000MHZ)
lowering it to 4x gives you headroom to go up to 250MHZ base HTT speed before the full HTT bus is increased past 1000MHZ again (250MHZ x 4 = 1000MHZ)

If the HTT speed goes past 1000MHZ, it can become unstable. But it depends on the quality of the board. Some boards can sustain a higher HTT speed.

Socket 754 has a lower HTT speed of 800MHZ (effective 1600MHZ speed) and a 4x stock HTT multiplier.
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
well it did not fit...luckily my manager gave me a case for free and it fit.
I got everything hooked up. BUT it shows only one core is being used.
The main reason i got this mobo is cos my previous one wouldnt recognize opterons...please dont tell me this is the same problem.
I just re-formatted my whole pc, im going to try flashing the bios now...if that doesnt work then im just goot with bad lu ck.
Make sure you grab service pack 2 for XP again

*edit*
this is what the task manager should look like:


except for the carbon fiber skin I have. two graphs side by side at the top
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 12:34 PM   #67 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

i did reinstall sp 2 again.
Once i got everything hooked up, i reformated. Still no dual core present.
Then i dl sp2 and installed it...still no dual core.
I ran win update got everything uptodate and still no dual core...
do i have to update my bios in order to get the dual core showing?

Shouldnt the dual core come up automatically since this is a new mobo.
The cd i got for drivers, doesnt install xp drivers for the usb porst...they said i need to install in manually.
I DONT KNOW HOW?
i cant even use my ex hd to install stuff.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 02:54 PM   #68 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

Sounds like a bios update may be needed. Look at their bios updates and see if any of their bois updates pertain to your situation..
pshootr is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 03:34 PM   #69 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

how to check what current bios version i have and then i can check if i had it.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 10:08 PM   #70 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Re-Considering Overclocking

i found out i have a 2005 bios version and their is a 2006 available...i dont know how to flash a bios...the instuctions are realy confusing.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
ASUS Announces Hardware Based Real-time Overclocking Device Osiris Overclocking and Modding 2 07-06-2007 11:44 AM
video card overclocking, I have a question AMD6415 Overclocking and Modding 5 06-15-2007 09:58 PM
Shutdown problem when overclocking Zatio89 Overclocking and Modding 6 05-20-2007 09:50 PM
I want to know about Overclocking for New Computer bbcrew Overclocking and Modding 3 05-10-2007 12:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.