Rate the Wire Management Above You! - Page 268 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2010, 06:22 PM   #2671 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
@Luke- This is a standard use desktop. No need for a GFX card. I don't think it needs zip ties. If I need any cables quick, i can pull em out. At least it doesn't disrupt air flow.
Oh it needs zip ties... Also the thread is wire management, not airflow management.

Not having a gpu is a big deal in this thread, as its impossibled to compare a management with no gpu and associated cabling, vs. a sli/xfire system that has 4 extra cables and 2/3rds less room.

Search through the thread, no gpu basically scores a 6
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:28 PM   #2672 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

I thought we were rating the "wire management" no matter how many bells and whistles you have, just here's my case, given with what I have, rate it...

I'll keep it to myself then...
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:46 PM   #2673 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

We are rating wire management. But why would you expect the same score with half the components, thus half the effort, as someone who spent time modding their case, running wires as best they can cause they have 5 times the wires.

Its like saying I can throw up an empty case and expect a 10.

Now to your actual case, theres so much "mess and disorder" with the psu cables at the top that needs to be cleaned up.
The usb header cables are just hanging there, and with the bare minimun items, it just seems cluttered.

You asked to be rated, it was, and you didn't like the answer... That's life. Browse the thread.. its a ***** to get above 8, so getting a low value is just the truth.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:47 PM   #2674 (permalink)
Grand Tinker
 
cq842000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to cq842000
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

Dont feel bad Mind, I had to jump through hoops to receive an 8.5/10. I even evicted the tech-gnomes from my case.
__________________
...Unda..Bestia...
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | Swiftech/EK/Feser Liquid Cooling | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2000 DDR3 | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 (core 1ghz/memory 1.5ghz) + GTX 460 for PhysX
| 2x WD 640 GB 7200rpm HDDs | Antec True Power Quattro 1200w + Antec True Power Quattro 1000w |

cq842000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:49 PM   #2675 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

I'm considering rewiring my PSU so that all the wires are the same colour.
I could even add connectors inside the PSU so that I can replace the wire sets (thus making it modular basically, except with the conectors hidden inside)
That way I can more easily change the wire colours.

If I end up getting a Crosshair Iv board, it would make sense to change my whole colour scheme to red (the 5870 is black/red aswell)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:50 PM   #2676 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

i still cant really see **** all in your case cq842000 lol, but by what i can see , i would give it an 8.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:52 PM   #2677 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

Quote:
I'm considering rewiring my PSU so that all the wires are the same colour.
I could even add connectors inside the PSU so that I can replace the wire sets (thus making it modular basically, except with the conectors hidden inside)
That way I can more easily change the wire colours.
are you talking about setting up some kind of modular interface? good luck there lol. My hat would be off to you if you could do it though.

EDIT:wow, didnt realize i double posted...my bad.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:53 PM   #2678 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

It wouldn't be too hard. It would just take time and money.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:55 PM   #2679 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
It wouldn't be too hard. It would just take time and money.
If you do........ you definitely need to log it here.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:55 PM   #2680 (permalink)
Grand Tinker
 
cq842000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to cq842000
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
i still cant really see **** all in your case cq842000 lol, but by what i can see , i would give it an 8.
Did you see the three new pictures on page 267?

Lol, I guess it's the paintjob. I even shined light in the case, opened up the mini-blinds, and risked a corneal welding to get good lighting. I hope I never drop any black screws in there, I'd never be able to find them.
:P
__________________

__________________
...Unda..Bestia...
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | Swiftech/EK/Feser Liquid Cooling | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2000 DDR3 | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 (core 1ghz/memory 1.5ghz) + GTX 460 for PhysX
| 2x WD 640 GB 7200rpm HDDs | Antec True Power Quattro 1200w + Antec True Power Quattro 1000w |

cq842000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable Management. sadisticmidget Overclocking and Modding 9 08-11-2007 02:29 PM
Wire..... wire.... confusing me... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-07-2007 10:10 AM
Need help indentifying and finding a solution to convert this USB wire. Kutabare Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 08-03-2007 10:47 PM
crysis omg molsen Off Topic Discussion 77 06-17-2007 02:41 PM
Daily Management Software Jethro69 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-16-2007 11:01 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.