Rate the Wire Management Above You! - Page 192 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2009, 01:02 PM   #1911 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,033
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
I've gotten by just fine with my single DVD-RW for the past 5 years...
ya but im tight on budget right now so i can deal with what i got. Swapping discs was annoying.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
--AMD FX-8150 w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 SDRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ AMD 990FX Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 01:18 PM   #1912 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

I am using 3 aswell now just installed it realised its been sitting on my desk for weeks after being painted. You can keep disks in the bottom one so that you don't have to get the no-cd cracks its just better in general imo.
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 01:20 PM   #1913 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

Half the games I play don't even require the disc's to play...

Sins of a solar empire, Red Alert 3, Left 4 Dead...
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 01:57 PM   #1914 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

What I do is... Rip and store my main games, then just mount via the iso.

But I only have 3 games.... so it's not much room..
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 02:05 PM   #1915 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,033
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
Half the games I play don't even require the disc's to play...

Sins of a solar empire, Red Alert 3, Left 4 Dead...
the only games i have that dont need the disc is Hellgate: London, Dawn of War and expansions 1 and 2, Left 4 Dead, and Crysis Warhead.

idk how to make Diablo 2 work without a disc. The new patch gave instructions to replace all of the MPQ files from the discs but it didnt work. Here are instructions:

Quote:
If all required Diablo 2 '.MPQ' files are installed on the
hard drive, the game will no longer require the CD to play.

For users that originally performed a 'Full Installation'
and wish to run without the CD, all '.MPQ' files should
be copied from the Diablo 2 CDs to the Diablo 2 directory.
Most users will only need to copy D2Music.mpq from the
Diablo 2 Play CD and/or D2xMusic.mpq from the Lord of
Destruction CD. Mac users will need to copy these music
files and rename them to 'Diablo II Music' and
'Diablo II Expansion Music' respectively.

Anyone who did not perform a 'Full Installation' will need
to re-install from CD again to ultimately play without the CD.
In this case, a 'Full Installation' is required, followed by file
copy step noted above.
i originally did full installation.
__________________
--Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
--AMD FX-8150 w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 SDRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ AMD 990FX Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 02:23 PM   #1916 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

I worked on mine a bit about a month ago, but it got a bit messier once i put in my core 216, i couldn't route the second 6pin cable the way i did the first one, so now it looks bad, also i need to do some work at the bottum of the case, i think i might just rip out the front panel usb and audio because i don't use them much, probably the temp sensors as well as they are crap. That should clean things up, i'll prob do it when im putting in my 1tb samsung hdd that im ordering today...that way its all done in one shot. Sorry for the bad quality, they are phone pics. Also the pci bracket fell off when i turned the case over, i just forgot to move it in the pics, it is not there normally.



__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 02:37 PM   #1917 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,033
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
I worked on mine a bit about a month ago, but it got a bit messier once i put in my core 216, i couldn't route the second 6pin cable the way i did the first one, so now it looks bad, also i need to do some work at the bottum of the case, i think i might just rip out the front panel usb and audio because i don't use them much, probably the temp sensors as well as they are crap. That should clean things up, i'll prob do it when im putting in my 1tb samsung hdd that im ordering today...that way its all done in one shot. Sorry for the bad quality, they are phone pics. Also the pci bracket fell off when i turned the case over, i just forgot to move it in the pics, it is not there normally.



does that RAM fan controller really cool it down? What program do i need to find out the temps of my RAM? I know that DDR3 has thermal sensors now but not DDR2.
__________________
--Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
--AMD FX-8150 w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 SDRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ AMD 990FX Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 02:41 PM   #1918 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
does that RAM fan controller really cool it down? What program do i need to find out the temps of my RAM? I know that DDR3 has thermal sensors now but not DDR2.
You touch it, if it's too hot to hold onto, it needs a cooler.

@@@ luke, I'd give it a 7.5 maybe 8/10

Wire management isn't bad, just need to tidy up a few stray wires then it would be a solid 8.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 02:42 PM   #1919 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

Ram fan controller?

im assuming your talking about the 3x40mm on top of my ram, of course it cools the ram down more, lol, why else would i have it there?
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 02:44 PM   #1920 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,033
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Rate the Wire Management Above You!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
You touch it, if it's too hot to hold onto, it needs a cooler.
u serious? Just like that? Gosh. I will check right now then. My new case keeps everything cool now since there is very good air flow. Got my CPU down 5-6 C.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
--AMD FX-8150 w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 SDRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ AMD 990FX Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable Management. sadisticmidget Overclocking and Modding 9 08-11-2007 02:29 PM
Wire..... wire.... confusing me... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-07-2007 10:10 AM
Need help indentifying and finding a solution to convert this USB wire. Kutabare Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 08-03-2007 10:47 PM
crysis omg molsen Off Topic Discussion 77 06-17-2007 02:41 PM
Daily Management Software Jethro69 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-16-2007 11:01 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.